You Before Me | #AtoZChallenge

Carefree – that’s how you looked in that photograph, the one from your younger days. Over-excited and at ease. Cocky even, as if the future didn’t exist. As if anything aside from that moment, before or after, didn’t exist.

Until I saw that photograph, whoever you were before me wasn’t wholly real to me. A shadow or a ghost that I didn’t know well. The photograph gave form to that shadow. It filled it out.

When you told me that you’d like me to meet your friends – the ones you pointed out to me – the paper suddenly loomed in front of me like a mountain I was daunted by. Who were these people who knew a side of you without me? What yardstick will I be measured against? Who will I fail in comparison to? Those were my first thoughts, thoughts that I didn’t share with you.

Then later, as we gossiped about coworkers, my eyelids slowly began to droop; your fingers rhythmically stroking my hair reassured me that the past couldn’t hurt me. If I said, “I am,” it also meant “You are,” if I rearranged the letters a certain way – a little puzzle whose logic only I understood. It meant that, to us, only the present mattered.

If there was a you before me, it was someone I don’t know. But who you are is who I am.


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

Y

22 thoughts on “You Before Me | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Rajlakshmi April 29, 2017 / 2:49 PM

    You write so well. It’s a pleasure to read the way you delicately handle emotions. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vidya Sury April 29, 2017 / 5:01 PM

    🙂 I hear the sadness in this post. I am wondering how you will wrap up with Z. Hugs, Sreesha! “What might have been” –regret–is awful because it opens up too many possibilities, and no way of knowing the outcome–it is just conjecture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 8:22 AM

      Yeah, what might have been, if only, what not. I wonder why our brains weren’t designed better by whoever designed them!

      Like

  3. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 29, 2017 / 8:57 PM

    That last line will remain with me forever.

    Have I told you that you are a brilliant writer? Yes? Okay, I’m just telling it again now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:49 AM

      Soumya ask her to pursue this genre :p

      Like

  4. Louise April 30, 2017 / 11:53 PM

    Such a mysterious place – the person your other is before “we”. You describe it well. The very “just now” of couples.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. CRD May 1, 2017 / 2:09 PM

    Beautifully written Sreesha. I can only hope to write as beautifully as you do. You do magic with your fingers…on your keyboard 😉

    Cheers,
    CRD

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Parul Thakur May 3, 2017 / 10:20 PM

    This line is the essence of a relationship.
    If there was a you before me, it was someone I don’t know. But who you are is who I am.

    So true of people who choose each other. Fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:51 AM

    Everybody has written about the last line and I don’t want to copy the same, but I can’t help it. It’s beautiful. Ok, so just 1 post remains now and I’m heading there. This could have gone forever, you know?

    Like

Leave a Reply

