Walking After You | #AtoZChallenge

It may have been because I told you so much about myself in my drunken haze the other night that I was making extra effort not to get personal over the conversations we had afterwards. Even over the texts we exchanged on Friday nights. It had become a habit now – you’d text me on Fridays and we’d talk late into the night about things that didn’t matter.

Tonight, among all those inconsequential topics, you slipped in one of consequence. I didn’t press, I didn’t ask you to clarify if you meant what I thought you meant, but I understood.

Do you know the story about the boy who, as he waited for the bus one afternoon, found himself thinking about a girl he knew? She walked right into his thoughts, on nimble toes when he was not looking. As the days passed, he began to wonder what she would think about the things he liked, if she would approve of them. He wanted her opinion about little things, yet he never asked her. He held himself back. Then he found himself thinking about her at the quiet hour of 3 am. Even the lethargic hour of 3 pm.

I read that story a while ago, but it reminded me of our Friday nights, of how you first began that tradition. I pictured you as the boy and laughed it off. Where did that thought come from, I wondered then.

Now I knew.

 

It was around 8.30 in the evening and I blurted out the first thing I could think of. “Can we meet?”


 

Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

W

21 thoughts on “Walking After You | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Mayuri Nidigallu April 27, 2017 / 8:47 AM

    And I am walking after you both, to see where this goes.
    I will be sad when this challenge ends, Sreesha. I’ll miss my daily dose of brilliance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vidya Sury April 27, 2017 / 12:22 PM

    Waiting with bated breath. I know it takes courage to ask that question!
    Hugs, Sreesha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reema D'souza April 28, 2017 / 12:13 AM

    Lovely! Did he agree to meet? Just three more posts left in this series? I’m sad 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Louise April 28, 2017 / 5:21 AM

    Does this link back to the one in the car? I love how your story jumps around so I have to take a moment to place myself. It gives me hope that we’ll end on an upswing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 28, 2017 / 3:28 PM

      Yup, this follows the one in the car, let’s assume a few days (or weeks) later, and then from here we go to E. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Louise April 28, 2017 / 4:07 PM

      I’ll go back and have a look. You should map it out – or challenge us to try and map it out – at the end 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 8:10 AM

      The challenge is already on 😀 😀 I prefer the posts be read at random, cos while the posts follow a timeline, they’re not all one after the other.

      Like

  5. Pikakshi April 28, 2017 / 6:33 PM

    Ok, this seems linked up..and goes way back to E. I need to stalk your blog now, or I’ll be confused. And yea, Z seems close enough..you should keep writing posts like these, for us greedy people 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 8:11 AM

      Hehe, don’t be confused; just think of it as a tiny puzzle. It’ll be fun 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sanchwrites May 12, 2017 / 3:17 AM

    ‘She walked into his thoughts, on nimble toes’….wow! Loving this and nearing the end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:43 AM

    Oh, I read in comments that this leads to E. Going there now.
    And this one was well written,with a question that is usually reverted with No 😀

    Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 29, 2017 / 8:03 AM

      Ah, don’t worry, he said yes. In fact, she picked up the courage to ask cos it was he who mentioned it first, as in the line, ” among all those inconsequential topics, you slipped in one of consequence. I didn’t press, I didn’t ask you to clarify if you meant what I thought you meant, but I understood.” 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

