Valentine’s Day | #AtoZChallenge

The driver sucks in his breath. Next to me, Sara gasps out loud.

At this late hour, the lights aren’t as bright, the street is awash in dim gold. We were heading home after one of those black-themed parties on St. Valentine’s Day.

“What is it?” I ask.

“A car,” she says, “Upturned. It’s in terrible shape.”

I turn around, almost perfunctorily. I don’t see the car. Perhaps the darkness rose around it like a shroud to shield it from my view. But I know. I know which car it is, the model, the make, the color. I know what the number plate reads.

With you, it’s like instinct. A kind of telepathy.
With you I always knew. With you, there were no unexpected surprises, no news out of the blue.

When you told me you had fallen for me, I knew.
Whenever you told me you loved me, I said I knew.
When I left, you came back as I knew you would.
When you lied to me the first time, I knew. And the subsequent times as well.

Even when you ignored me the first time we met, I knew. 

With you, I always knew. And I know tonight as well. The darkness needn’t have bothered.


 

Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

V

 

31 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day | #AtoZChallenge

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 9:09 AM

      🙂 Hmmm… We’ll think of an alternative ending, maybe?

      Like

    • Namratha Varadharajan April 27, 2017 / 9:43 PM

      Maybe:) I usually do that with bad dreams, just imagine something different. But life is not like that, is it?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Shubhangi Srikanth April 26, 2017 / 8:14 PM

    Oh my god! Beautiful writing! It just strikes you like lightning! I’ve noticed something, and that is, your use of short sentences..they make the writing so much better and powerful than long complicated sentences.

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 9:11 AM

      Glad you like that style 🙂 Some editors I’ve worked with have had a problem with it in the past 😀

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 9:19 AM

      I’m glad you guessed… I’d left hints in B, M, and S 🙂

      ….And deja vu? Honey… I’m not quite sure what to say… hugs…

      Like

  2. Shilpa Garg April 26, 2017 / 11:43 PM

    God! That sucked the air out of me… Didnt expect this!!
    Some great story telling here, Sreesha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tina Basu April 27, 2017 / 12:56 AM

    oh my, thats so sad!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kaddu April 27, 2017 / 2:10 PM

    I knew this was coming one of these days, but didn’t know it was going to hit like that! If this was a novel in sequence, this is the chapter where my tears would start pouring, and would continue pouring for some time.

    I agree. Short sentences are more powerful sometimes.

    Anyway, I got tied up with work yesterday, so couldn’t complete my V post. Do visit it today @ A to Z of Happiness: Values. Happy AtoZing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sanchwrites May 12, 2017 / 3:15 AM

    Beautifully expressed. I don’t know if I’ve ever had that kind of connection with anyone though — the knowing before you know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:36 AM

    Oh Damn! Didn’t know this will come so soon. I’m more interested in following posts now.
    PS, I love that song.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 29, 2017 / 8:01 AM

      It had to come some time 🙂

      I love that song too! 😀 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

