Unfinished | #AtoZChallenge

Your words are slurred. Your eyes are bloodshot.

All the time.

It isn’t just the drinking. The way you think has changed. Your assertiveness has given way to hardness, to an ugly edge laced with superiority and anger. There’s an air of unpredictability, as if any moment you’d strike a match in a room full of gasoline just for laughs. Fear clouds my thoughts. This unfamiliarity is jarring.

But I shut the door on my instincts. Your slurred words are convincing me to pick up where we left off.

Those words are the splinter on which I cut myself.


 

Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

U

28 thoughts on “Unfinished | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Lalita April 25, 2017 / 8:42 AM

    Are nt words the worst weapons on which we cut ourselves and bleed the ones we love? I loved the close. And the beginning and everything in between. This story of a flawed and fallen love. Is everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:49 AM

      We’re all blinded by the words of those we love. Foolishness, when you finally look at objectively.
      Thank you, L! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:52 AM

      So many people, so many lives…

      Thanks for reading, S! 🙂

      Like

  2. Shailaja V April 25, 2017 / 8:19 PM

    I am shivering here. Now finally getting why they aren’t together anymore. sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:53 AM

      Shocking, isn’t it, how people change over time. (And yet, on some level I believe people don’t change at all – simply become more like who they were all along)

      Like

  3. Dr Roshan R (@pythoroshan) April 25, 2017 / 8:40 PM

    A sensitive post…unlike Mithila, I havent figured out the order yet… will need to review all of themtogether at leisure when this series is done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:55 AM

      Oh, I’m still surprised how she did it 😀 It would be fun to figure it out, I suppose, but I prefer the random order.

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:32 AM

      The random order kind of makes things intriguing and creates an anticipation, so yeah, I will prefer it that way as well 🙂

      Like

  4. Vidya Sury April 25, 2017 / 10:14 PM

    Short, powerful and a sense of doom. And lots of regret. So beautifully written, Sreesha! Hugs! (I missed you and am here to binge read!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:55 AM

      I missed you too! I kept wondering where you went off after O!

      Like

  5. Pikakshi April 26, 2017 / 12:05 PM

    So much pain, regret, hurt and helplessness in those lines! Deeply touching.
    Again, another lovely post 🙂 Keep ’em coming!!

    Underdogs of the Literary World

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Louise April 27, 2017 / 3:27 AM

    I can almost feel her trying to sort through the change in him and try to figure a way it will be okay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 9:05 AM

      In a situation like this, we often try to make it ok, and we try our best, but more often than not, it’s beyond help…

      Thanks for reading, Louise 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. sanchwrites May 12, 2017 / 2:33 AM

    I think I can see where this is headed. Sometimes, even when we know relationships are not good for us, there are things unsaid, feelings of comfort and all that unfinished business that drags us back in…

    Like

  8. Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:33 AM

    I don’t know why but I have come to believe that people do change. It’s a part of our nature, maybe?

    Like

Leave a Reply

