Things We Lost In The Fire | #AtoZChallenge

I didn’t know the first thing about building a fire, and as I watched you work, the thought crossed my mind – once again – that we may run out of things to talk about. It wasn’t the silence that I feared. It was what would constitute that silence – doubt, a feeling that this was a reckless mistake, a realization that we were, after all, not compatible.

You worked quietly, patiently, and I thought I saw some of those same doubts on your mind as well. I asked you to play some music on your phone; you handed it over to me and asked me to play whatever I liked.

I scrolled through the list; a collection from a different time, where deep baritones were dominant. Different from what I was used to, and yet, if you think about it, it was what had brought us closer.

I picked a song whose artist sounded vaguely familiar. It started out like a tragic tune from a Shakespearean play, and seeing my scrunched up face, you laughed and told me that it gets better.

You were right. It did get better, and now it’s one of my favorite songs.

I told you a story once the fire was built and roaring, a story from my childhood. Then I told you another. I told you about my grandma who hated her mother-in-law. I told you about her mother-in-law, my great grandmother, and her love for sinfully sweet desserts. Stories so insignificant that until then I didn’t know I was carrying them in me.
You were the perfect audience, listening and saving my stories and words. To remind me of them on rainy days.
Then it was your turn. You told me about the time you begged your dad to keep a secret from your mom. You told me about your friends, the ones you kept in touch with, and the ones you missed.

The fire reduced to embers, and then to ashes before dawn broke. How many hours before dawn broke? I don’t remember. What I remember is thinking that my fears of silence were unfounded.

What I remember is how your skin felt under my still-hesitant fingers, and how your breath felt just above my mouth as you leaned in to kiss me.


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

T

34 thoughts on “Things We Lost In The Fire | #AtoZChallenge

  1. jazzfeathers April 24, 2017 / 11:30 AM

    Aww, thisis so sweet. I’m loving your short love stories because, in spite of being full with doubts, theya re also filled with hope 🙂

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:37 AM

      Thank you, Sarah 🙂 Glad I could convey both those sides.

      Like

  2. Neha April 24, 2017 / 4:34 PM

    You beautifully recreated a bonfire night. Some memories, some hesitant future and a lot of present.

    Tender Love

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kaddu April 24, 2017 / 7:12 PM

    People with whom we feel comfortable enough to talk about anything and everything… with whom we don’t feel judged… such people are rare.
    This sounded like their first proper date.
    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:39 AM

      Yup, this was their first date. 🙂
      I’ve always wondered what it is that makes us connect on that level with certain people…

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:40 AM

      When you find that person, joy, and kind of a pleasant surprise as well 🙂

      Thank you, Titli 🙂

      Like

  4. Shilpa Garg April 24, 2017 / 10:08 PM

    Ah! What they share is something so precious and beautiful. And this guy is for keeps, for sure. I wonder what went wrong between them!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reema D'souza April 24, 2017 / 11:32 PM

    Wow! Some times those insignificant stories help us become closer right? I loved how you’ve narrated this.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lalita April 25, 2017 / 8:57 AM

    Its poignant how when we tell our most intimate stories, we create this interweaving with that person, and then when we doubt where we stand, we feel so vulnerable for having shared those very stories that created magic. Damned if I do. Dead if I don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:44 AM

      To quote one of my favorite fictional characters on TV, “A relationship is the emotional equivalent of an English degree. You learn so much about a person, but after the relationship is over, you don’t know what to do with that knowledge.”

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Vidya Sury April 25, 2017 / 10:33 PM

    I love my mind’s visual of this post, Sreesha. I am sure that no matter what happened later, that evening will always be special for her, and soften her expression and force her to linger on the memory and relive how she felt. Reminds me of something!

    Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:46 AM

      🙂 First kisses always have that effect… Whatever happens in the end, nostalgia is always filled with the memory of first kisses 🙂

      Thank you, V 🙂

      Like

  8. andthereshegoesagainblog April 26, 2017 / 1:04 AM

    I loved your descriptive writing. I loved how to mentioned endless stories, to fill the silence. The stories, one does not even know they have inside them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Louise April 27, 2017 / 3:25 AM

    Oh I love this description of getting to know one another and hitting that “oh good we have stuff to talk about & this won’t be hard” stage of the evening.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mithila Menezes April 28, 2017 / 10:14 AM

    Sometimes it’s just the act of being able to trust someone that makes a difference. The insignificant stories don’t make their way into daily small talk. They only flow out, when the trust is there and the person is right. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 8:06 AM

      Yeah, and sometimes, even those insignificant stories, we don’t share them with just about anyone. Ah life! 🙂

      Like

  11. Shailaja V April 30, 2017 / 11:21 AM

    There’s an undercurrent of sadness although it’s a beautiful melange of moments. I can’t put my finger on it but oh, it pulsates. I know it’s there. Love the writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. sanchwrites May 7, 2017 / 7:05 AM

    Loved the scene you set around the fire and the hesitancy and the anxieties. So relatable to most people

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Anmol Rawat May 19, 2017 / 11:30 AM

    Wow! This was lovely! Isn’t that the best part of a relationship? You can tell your secrets, you can confide in each other. Even the silence speaks so much if you understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 29, 2017 / 7:54 AM

      🙂 🙂 🙂 Yup, this is definitely the best part of any relationship 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

