Reminder | #AtoZChallenge

I had been pronouncing my name wrong for so long, I forgot what my mother had named me. It’s a confusing, twisted name that people paused before reading aloud. The kind of name they always asked to repeat. I got so tired of it that I altered it slightly, so that their tongues found it easier to roll around it.

You said it right the very first time. You asked me if that is, in fact, the right way to say it. I heard the hesitation in your voice, perhaps anticipating a retort, a reprimand.

And just like that, you shifted something in the air. You reminded me what I had forgotten – my own name. Like my name was a secret that only you and I could get right.


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

R

Alternative titles: Radiant Eclipse, Roots.

47 thoughts on “Reminder | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Lata Sunil April 21, 2017 / 12:16 AM

    An issue I face everyday. All non-Indians call me Laa..aaata. Come on, it is only 2 syllables. Get it right.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 9:59 AM

      The strange thing is, non-Indians pronounce my name correctly most of the time. The others call me anything from Sireesha to Sheesha *facepalm*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzfeathers April 21, 2017 / 12:41 AM

    So very nice. I like the sense of self-discovery and self-awareness that even such short story gives away

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tina Basu April 21, 2017 / 11:10 AM

    Gosh ask me, I have had this issue of mispronunciation of my good name eversince i left school! I stick to my nick name now, too tired to explain everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anmol Rawat April 22, 2017 / 9:36 AM

      Lol but I just love your name, it’s different. I haven’t heard ‘Sarani’ before.

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:00 AM

      Oh, so Tina is your nickname?? Didn’t know that 🙂

      Like

  4. Namratha Varadharajan April 21, 2017 / 11:43 AM

    Searching for a word here. Our little nothings? The stuff that makes the relationship a little bit more special? Got the chance to listen to the song you’ve posted to, made an apt backdrop for the story..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. debscarey April 21, 2017 / 2:50 PM

    Having been out of contact with reliable internet connections, I’ve been catching up and had a marvellous time binge reading your posts. The way you’ve interspersed the lovely memories with an occasional reminder of reality has beautifully maintained the pathos.

    Bunny and the Bloke

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pythoroshan April 21, 2017 / 5:52 PM

    Sigh. Feels like the diary entry at the start of a very romantic tale.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:02 AM

      I’ll just be here in my corner, giggling and blushing at this comment 🙂 🙂

      Like

  7. Mithila Menezes April 21, 2017 / 7:49 PM

    Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Major relatable post this is.

    Before I spill out something I don’t want to say (Just like the heroine of yesterday’s post) , I’ll hop away 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shubhangi Srikanth April 21, 2017 / 8:42 PM

    Seems like my story! Many people get my spelling wrong, and I hate it! But my hubby won me over exactly like this! pronouncing it and spelling it right and also confirming it from me!! It reads even more romantic!

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:03 AM

      Wow! That is so awww 🙂 🙂 Thumbs up to your hubby 🙂

      Like

  9. Kaddu April 21, 2017 / 10:50 PM

    It’s always a delight when people get our name right! I’ve been called Kadambri, Kadambani, Kadambini and Kadhambari! 😀
    I’ve kinda gotten used to it now.
    I agree with Doc. This does seem like the start of a romantic tale.
    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:05 AM

      You and I both should just switch over to our nicknames. (which are quite similar, btw)

      Like

  10. inquisitivegeet April 21, 2017 / 10:56 PM

    I think this happens with a lot of us! It takes effort to tell the right name again and again!

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Liked by 1 person

  11. reemamichelle April 21, 2017 / 11:05 PM

    Lovely once again! And yeah I know how it feels when your name is mispronounced or misspelt!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. cherylsterling1955 April 22, 2017 / 3:36 AM

    This is a universal theme. No matter how clearly I pronounce my name, a few still call me Carol. I do not think mankind will ever get away from these common mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:06 AM

      Tell me about it! I’ve heard everything from Sheesha to Francesca. How does anyone get Francesca from Sreesha, lol!

      Like

  13. Anmol Rawat April 22, 2017 / 9:37 AM

    That’s too common. Happened with my sis so many times that she ended up adding another alphabet in the beginning to make things clear :-p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:07 AM

      Haha, similarly, a friend of mine took one letter off to make it easier for others.

      Like

  14. Shilpa Garg April 22, 2017 / 9:53 AM

    Ah! I love this man!! Is he from this world?? I want to know so much more about him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 10:08 AM

      Hehe, Shilpa, if something seems too good to be true, it probably is 😛

      Like

  15. Louise April 22, 2017 / 8:57 PM

    Oh such a nice moment described here showing an understanding of the importance of this to her.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. swathishenoy April 23, 2017 / 7:22 AM

    Ah, short but very sweet post ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Rajlakshmi April 24, 2017 / 3:52 AM

    What is that magic potion … Like seriously… Every single post of yours is weaved with such artistic perfection… I am running out of words to even describe how I feel. You for sure have got the recipe right 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pikakshi April 24, 2017 / 11:07 AM

    I can’t even begin to tell you the problems I face! I always tell my mom I’m gonna name my kids Ram, Shyam, Seeta, Geeta.. because a name is your identity and I feel so frustrated when people just pronounce it wrong again and again even after I have corrected them! Big sigh!

    Research is very important, but how much research do writers put in?

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      I know how you feel, but you have such a lovely name! It sounds nice just to read aloud (and certainly better than the generic names you’ve chosen for your kids 😛 )

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pikakshi April 27, 2017 / 7:38 PM

      Hehehe 😀 Thanks Sreesha! Yours is super lovely as well 🙂

      Like

  19. Vidya Sury April 25, 2017 / 10:28 PM

    What a cozy feeling. Even though people may pronounce one’s name right, special people always have a special way of saying it that’s so endearing. And yes, that feels like a wonderful and exclusive secret.

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 27, 2017 / 8:32 AM

      I know, right 😉 It’s something in the way they say your name. And with some people, even if they start out as friends, I’ve noticed that if they say your name a certain way, they always turn into something more. Well, almost always.

      Like

  20. sanchwrites May 7, 2017 / 6:06 AM

    Oh I love that last line…as someone with a slightly complicated name, I could identify with this and loved the subtleties in this story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

