Paradise | #AtoZChallenge

It struck me, with something smaller but comparable to awe, every time I thought about the fact that we grew up in neighbouring towns. Towns that shared a border, and lay on one straight line on a two dimensional map.

It makes me wonder if there was ever a moment in time when I stared off into space, and so did you, and we were both on that line, sixty miles apart, looking at each other without even knowing it. Does the cosmos ever align itself to allow for such possibilities?

Had we known, would you have walked towards me? Would I have walked towards you? Would we have found each other sooner?

Or were we biding our time in our own purgatories, going through what we did, separately, so as to finally find each other, far, far away from both those towns?


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

P

49 thoughts on “Paradise | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Iain Kelly April 19, 2017 / 1:30 AM

    Nice tale. If you believe in fate then they met at exactly the right moment and any earlier would have been too soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:07 AM

      Oh, I do believe in fate (to some extent, at least).

      Thanks for reading, Iain 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Natasha April 19, 2017 / 7:52 AM

    Paradise is a fav❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shailaja V April 19, 2017 / 8:00 AM

    I’ve actually felt this when it comes to me and V. Had we met earlier (since the families knew each other) would we have hit it off from the word ‘go’? Or would we have started out with not liking one another and then grown into a special kind of love? Sigh, you’ve got to stop making me reminisce about the past with your words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:10 AM

      Awwwww. It’s nice to hypothesize, but I think we meet those we meet when we’re supposed to meet them. Balance of the universe and all that. And if we meet them too soon, or too late, it may not work out for the best. Or if you’re lucky, you’ll meet again when the time is right. 🙂

      Like

  4. Namratha Varadharajan April 19, 2017 / 9:53 AM

    Like Shailaja said, I have also wondered how it would have been if I had met my husband while I was still in college. But then I think we might not have even considered each other, we are 4 years apart in age and he would have thought me tooo young at that point.

    Celebrating ‘Women & their work’ all April @NamySaysSo Oprah Winfrey

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vidya Sury April 19, 2017 / 2:31 PM

    🙂 No wonder there’s a time and place for everything. I’ve experienced this with so many friends, while exploring our backgrounds. Small world. I like that! I also like ColdPlay. By the way, I always listen to the song you feature while reading your post.

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:21 AM

      There is! If you figure out the why and how of it, it becomes so crystal clear!

      Aww thank you 🙂 Most I chose because of their titles (like this one). A few have appropriate lyrics as well (like the one coming up) As for Coldplay, it’s been a year and I still can’t get over how fantastic the Up and Up video is! Best music video of all time! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tina Basu April 19, 2017 / 4:06 PM

    both me and my husband are from same college but we never met each other, he was passing out while I was a fresher
    Tina
    Twinkling Tina Cooks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:21 AM

      Wow… imagine if you had met before 🙂

      Thanks for reading, Tina!

      Like

  7. Mayuri Nidigallu April 19, 2017 / 4:49 PM

    Reading your posts gives me goosebumps and butterflies in the stomach. Reading your posts is much like the anticipation one feels when in love.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Neha April 19, 2017 / 6:32 PM

    Destiny and fate are a debatable topic, but I do believe in them to certain degrees. It is so true that if you find some common connection you wonder if life had worked out the way it did if you had met earlier.
    Positive

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:26 AM

      Yeah, so do I, to some extent.
      You wonder, but then I guess you realize you met at the right time.

      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Menaka Bharathi April 19, 2017 / 6:47 PM

    No wonder..Havn’t always pondered on the question what would happen if it was like this..Have always felt it would have been great if there is a rewind button

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:28 AM

      A rewind button is an answer to everything! Oh, for the love of a time turner 😀 😀

      Thanks for reading, Menaka 🙂

      Like

  10. kalaravi16 April 19, 2017 / 7:31 PM

    Perhaps this is called a ‘kismet connection’? The universe does conspire to make certain things happen or otherwise. I like the way you are keeping your tales open-ended and free to the readers interpretations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:28 AM

      That’s a nice way to put it 🙂

      Thank you, Kala!

      Like

  11. Shilpa Garg April 19, 2017 / 8:11 PM

    These are the questions I have asked myself too. How our paths cross with certain people and how they become an integral part of our life, when it all seems so implausible!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:29 AM

      Timing is everything 🙂

      Thanks for reading, Shilpa.

      Like

  12. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 19, 2017 / 10:33 PM

    Serendipity is what is it my friend 🙂

    If it is planned or expected, it is way too boring.

    Loveeeeeee the use of words here. The emotions come out perfectly. At times I ask myself this question, what if? Then I am like, if it was meant to be, it would have been.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      It’s like what you told me about you and L – how you two *could have* met each other before, but met at the right time 🙂

      Like

  13. reemamichelle April 19, 2017 / 11:19 PM

    Lovely! And I was about to pick Paradise for P but changed it at the last moment 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:31 AM

      I had a different song in mind, and chose Paradise at the last moment 😛 Changed the plot of this story thrice before finalizing this one. Maybe when you discarded it, I was like “Ok, I’ll pick this up” 😀 😀

      Like

  14. Lata Sunil April 20, 2017 / 9:15 AM

    I have had this thought many times.. How do you get it?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Anmol Rawat April 20, 2017 / 11:13 PM

    “There’s a time and place for everything,” they say. I don’t really admire the idea because I don’t know, I guess sometimes you want things and you don’t really care about what’s good or bad. Sometimes, there is something larger than what’s good for you. Sometimes you just want to hold on no matter what.

    Paradise was the second track from Coldplay that I had heard. First was A Sky Full of Stars. Though Coldplay fans hate this track, I love it. It’s not raw I guess and too much electronic, but it connects, just like all the other songs of the band!

    Well, Coldplay made me write so much! 😀 But that’s the good thing, I believe. How many times can you suffice by writing ‘This was awesome Sreesha.’ ‘You nailed it Sreesha.’ ‘Such a beautiful chapter.’ ‘Start writing romance.’ ‘Do publish it when you complete.’ 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 21, 2017 / 8:40 AM

      Yes, wanting to hold on no matter what is such a relatable feeling, but in the larger scheme of things, essentially, you’re only holding yourself back. Don’t you think so?

      I chose Paradise at the last moment. The post for P was very different when originally planned. I think my favorite Coldplay song will always be Yellow 🙂 And Up and Up for the video…

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat April 21, 2017 / 6:58 PM

      Yes, I agree with you in logical terms, bu its hard to think logically in those situations 😀

      My favorite, I guess would be Scientist and then Yellow. Both of them serve in different moods waise. Yes, I love Up&Up too. Us album me se I really love ‘Everglow’ and ‘Miracles’ as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Pikakshi April 21, 2017 / 12:00 AM

    What a wonderful and cute lil story. I think so myself.. not only about meeting our someone specials, but also about meeting our friends, or even strangers whom we come across in our lives just once and then they go their separate ways.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Have a look at this Book Review on 2016’s bestseller Psycho Thriller.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 21, 2017 / 8:41 AM

      Sometimes I wish that they didn’t have to go their separate ways, you know? But that’s life 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pikakshi April 21, 2017 / 11:56 AM

      I hear you! But yea that’s life..true!!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Louise April 22, 2017 / 9:03 PM

    Ah – this thought – yes. Often wonder it about people I’ve met and possibly will meet and why the when happens when it does and … circle thought again. Another well done description of all this here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 9:50 AM

      There’s a Chinese legend called the Red String of Fate. I wonder if such things are actually true and if there really is a reason why we meet certain people at certain times. I’d like to think, there is 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. swathishenoy April 23, 2017 / 7:17 AM

    Reminds me of someone special 😍 we grew up in the same town, studied in the same college but still we never spoke with each other. And then we found each other in a different town! Fate sure has its own ways. Enough said!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 9:50 AM

      Awww this is so so cute ❤ Thanks for sharing, Swathi 🙂

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 8:01 AM

      Yes they do 🙂

      Glad to see you. No worries at all 🙂

      Like

  19. sanchwrites May 1, 2017 / 5:47 PM

    Serendipity…that’s what this reminded me of. Beautifully woven tale that left me wanting more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

