Once Upon a Playground Rainy | #AtoZChallenge

What does it take, I muse, for someone as detached as me to fall in love? 

The way you always make breakfast, even when I’d tell you to sleep in.
The way you stealthily click a photograph on Sunday mornings, with my hair in a messy bun and crusts of sleep still around my eyes.
The way you sometimes look at me when I’m standing at the checkout counter at the store. The  way you peek at the girl behind me thinking I wouldn’t notice (Oh, I notice everything!)
The way your face looks concerned and amused at the same time when I wobble unsteadily after I sit for too long, causing my legs to fall asleep.
The way your sentences are peppered with certain words pronounced just a wee bit differently, and how those words entered my own sentences that same way.
The way our eyes have the same downward slant, and the way my fingers link with yours, like they were moulded together some ancient lifetimes ago.

In a moment, dusk turned to night, and in another, the first stars of the evening disappeared behind storm clouds and lightning. The last of the people left, rushing to find a shelter from the rain. You asked, “Home or stay?”

“Stay,” I replied.

So we stayed. And we got thoroughly drenched in the way that you loved.


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

O

Someday I’ll write an AtoZ series using only POTF songs as titles. It will be mine and Marko Saaresto’s epic love story 😛 ❤ (If you follow me on Instagram, yes, this is what I was day-dreaming about last week.)

41 thoughts on “Once Upon a Playground Rainy | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Natasha April 18, 2017 / 8:05 AM

    Gosh this is soooooo beautiful Sreesha. 😍 Have to catch up on your other posts too.

    The hopeless romantic that I am this made me smile😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lata Sunil April 18, 2017 / 9:52 AM

    The description is just yumm. I am imagining it and playing it again and again of a time gone past 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shilpa Garg April 18, 2017 / 2:44 PM

    They surely have something really beautiful between them. I love their relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lalita April 18, 2017 / 2:56 PM

    Thats why the book aficionados say – you can only write stuff like this, you cant enact it. This is turning out to be quite the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 19, 2017 / 8:18 AM

      Did NOT mean this is a “best” book! Gosh, that came out so wrong!!! What I meant is… Ok forget it, you know what I meant I hope 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lalita April 20, 2017 / 8:16 AM

      Not at all! Have n’t you seen, the world is agog with your stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:35 AM

      Thank you 🙂 But really, really, really, not what I meant. Imma drown myself now, see ya.

      Like

  5. Shubhangi Srikanth April 18, 2017 / 9:35 PM

    This is one of the cutest posts I have read here!! The umpteen little things that happen between the couple and the way they notice each of that is just too cute! Awesome writing!

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pikakshi April 19, 2017 / 2:11 AM

    it was so beautiful! Immensely enjoyed it. Smiled while reading those heartfelt lines.
    Thanks for sharing!!

    Oooops! I read it again! — Re-visiting books that we love!

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rajlakshmi April 19, 2017 / 3:46 AM

    Damn this is insanely beautiful. The way you describe the little things with so much beauty and love. If your words were a person, I would have married him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 19, 2017 / 8:24 AM

      Are you proposing to my blog, young lady? As the parent of this blog, really, I need time to think 😛

      Like

  8. Vidya Sury April 19, 2017 / 2:28 PM

    This post felt so very uncomfortable, in a very pleasant way, of course. So been there and done that a few times. Very visual for me, Sreesha! Hugs! (Am i the only one lagging behind?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:02 AM

      Pleasantly uncomfortable, noice! 😛
      (About the lagging behind bit – Don’t think so, and don’t worry about it 🙂 )

      Like

  9. Kaddu April 19, 2017 / 6:16 PM

    Agree with Raji.Your love for this story is apparent in your words.
    @ “moulded together some ancient lifetimes ago”: This is such a cheesy line, but it fits in perfectly here. I thought I had grown past the age of hopeless romanticism, but your posts this month are proving me wrong! 😛

    Btw, I just published my O post @ A to Z of Happiness: Optimism.
    Do visit it.
    Happy AtoZing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 20, 2017 / 8:03 AM

      Funny thing, before writing this, I thought *I* had grown past hopeless romanticism. I even wrote a post about it a couple of years ago, which I linked to my Theme Reveal 😀

      Like

  10. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 19, 2017 / 10:36 PM

    How did I miss this beauty? Wow, how beautifully you write woman. I don’t know if you know it or not, but every word in every post of yours echoes love. No matter how detached you are 🙂

    And that my dear, is why I love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Anmol Rawat April 20, 2017 / 11:04 PM

    Wow!
    And for some reason, I have always found the idea of getting drenched in the rain extremely romantic. You are nailing this series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 21, 2017 / 8:35 AM

      Oh, I so love the rains too! (I mean, obviously, have you seen the name of my blog? 😛 )

      Like

  12. swathishenoy April 23, 2017 / 7:13 AM

    Couldn’t help smiling as I read this 🙂 I really really hope they get back together. It has become two categories for me – Posts I look forward to, the ones which have happy moments and the posts I don’t like because of the emotions but still like them because of the way you have written them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 24, 2017 / 9:46 AM

      Haha, what I’ve noticed this month is, I really like it when people mention it in the comments that they should get back together. But then when they do, I redirect them to the C post, and ask them to rethink.
      Thank you, Swathi 🙂

      Like

  13. sanchwrites May 1, 2017 / 5:14 PM

    Beautifully written again Sreesha…very romantic and I’m so not a romantic myself! Also, I have never heard of this band but I loved this song. Going to have to check them out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2017 / 7:59 AM

      Oh, they’re fantastic! They’re to me what Karnivool is to you 🙂 And their lead singer, Marko – oh man! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

