Make This Go On Forever | #AtoZChallenge

It’s on nights like these. When dinner’s accompanied by laughter and wine. When I’m the one laughing the loudest, and sharing the most number of stories. When they tell me all eyes are on me. When I know all eyes are on me.

It’s on nights like these that I force myself to remember. To hold on with the last broken string. To never let go of what’s already gone.

Self-destruction comes on so many wings. It enters through that brief moment of silence.

In little ways I remind myself you’re gone.
In little ways I keep you alive in me.

 


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

M

This post was originally titled My Immortal but I heard this song yesterday and knew no other song could be more apt for this series than this one. The lyrics gave me goosebumps!

 

 

40 thoughts on “Make This Go On Forever | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Ravish Mani April 15, 2017 / 12:41 AM

    Beautifully expressed the paradoxical nature of love.

    Like

  2. Louise April 15, 2017 / 4:10 AM

    Keeping the silence out – I can see her at that dinner commanding the room.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 17, 2017 / 8:28 AM

      Isn’t the song just… clutch your heart and pull it out kinda beautiful? ❤

      Like

  3. pythoroshan April 15, 2017 / 2:41 PM

    Another one which hit home. This whole back and forth between moments of a relationship is hitting too close to reality at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 17, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      It’s strange isn’t it, how so many characters in fiction remind us of ourselves in some way or the other…

      Like

  4. Lalita April 15, 2017 / 2:54 PM

    Its like this constant battle when you love someone. You don’t know how much is too much, when is it destructive, should you stay, should the heart believe, the what-ifs….those last lines about a love that once was, or again could be….loved.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Geethica April 15, 2017 / 4:05 PM

    This is something very different and unique. I like your style of telling the story in such few words.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Namratha Varadharajan April 15, 2017 / 10:25 PM

    Lovely song:) Coping mechanism for heartbreak: talk a lot, laugh a lot: silence and being alone are the enemies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 17, 2017 / 8:35 AM

      Exactly. And yet, there are those brief moments when that mechanism fails entirely…

      So glad you liked the song. I can’t seem to stop listening to it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 16, 2017 / 1:09 AM

    In little ways I remind myself you’re gone.
    In little ways I keep you alive in me.

    Oh wow, oh wow!

    If I wasn’t a fan already, I’d be drooling all over this post!

    Love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mithila Menezes April 16, 2017 / 9:12 AM

    Those last two lines! 😍 So perfect, hauntingly perfect!

    Time to get my note book out and figure out the positions of the new six posts. I read your previous posts (don’t worry about the lack of comments there, I loved them all!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 17, 2017 / 8:37 AM

      Hey don’t worry about the comments. I know you’re in the middle of exams. Chill.

      🙂 🙂 I’m so glad you’re keeping at it 😀

      Like

  9. Kaddu April 17, 2017 / 9:43 AM

    “To never let go of what’s already gone.” That is self-destruction at its best.
    I wonder why we do this to ourselves though. Why do we keep trying to hold on to something that is not even there?

    Btw, I’m lagging behind. (Was unwell.) Will post my ‘L’ and catch up with your ‘L’ next Sunday. In the meantime, DO visit my ‘M’.

    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 18, 2017 / 8:10 AM

      It’s a weakness, really. I never quite understood myself why we do it, except that we do…

      Oh, I was lagging a little behind as well. Was travelling. Hope you’re well now?

      Like

  10. Vidya Sury April 17, 2017 / 11:08 AM

    And in very big ways I hang on to your words. I am not sure whether to be peeved that each post of yours triggers memories I thought I’d forgotten or tucked away in that far off place too blurred to focus on. Ah, well. Sometimes it is nice to look back from the place of peace I am in, right now. Hugs! I’ve jotted down my theories on this series and will show you on 30th.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 18, 2017 / 8:12 AM

      You have no idea how excitedly I’m looking forward to the 30th! Really, really wanna know…

      It’s ok to indulge in a little nostalgia sometimes, no? 🙂 🙂 I think for me that’s been the whole point of this exercise 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Lata Sunil April 17, 2017 / 3:33 PM

    Beautiful.. simply loving these tidbits and wanting more

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Shilpa Garg April 17, 2017 / 6:48 PM

    Hauntingly beautiful, Sreesha! Heartbreaks hurts like nothing else, and nothing seems to help. And worst is when you dont know how to cope up with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 18, 2017 / 8:14 AM

      They should teach it in school – coping with heartbreak!

      Thanks for reading, Shilpa 🙂

      Like

  13. Menaka Bharathi April 17, 2017 / 8:04 PM

    Such a beautiful heartbreaking pieces…We let go of things which has broken our heart but the pain still prevails..Sometimes it leaves a scar too

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 18, 2017 / 8:17 AM

      Awww, Jini. Check out O to feel better 🙂 🙂

      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  14. Anmol Rawat April 20, 2017 / 10:59 PM

    In little ways I remind myself you’re gone.
    In little ways I keep you alive in me.

    Loved these lines. I hate that My Immortal was changed, this song is good too though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 21, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      I’ll probably mention in my Reflections why *exactly* I changed My Immortal. I even changed this post last minute and when I heard this song, specifically the line “The first kiss and the first time that I felt connected to anything.” I was like, whoa this is basically what the story is about.

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat April 21, 2017 / 7:01 PM

      Great! 🙂

      Like

  15. swathishenoy April 23, 2017 / 7:06 AM

    The first few lines made me smile thinking it’s a happy memory post! So much for wishful thinking! I loved the last 2 lines. So so beautiful 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

