Jealous Gods | #AtoZChallenge

You were upset for the rest of the day. Late in the evening, I asked you why that man’s comment bothered you so much.

“Because,” you said, “what if it jinxes what we have? Who walks up to strangers and says, ‘You both look so sweet together. I hope you make it.’?”

“He was wishing us well,” I said with a small laugh, to lighten the mood.

“No, he was not. The way he said it sounded like he had never seen a couple before. Such people cause trouble. They taunt fate with their little meaningless ‘compliments’.”

“Then we should be flattered. Why are you being superstitious? Who knows, maybe he was frozen in ice for a century and he’s just fascinated with all this new life around him.”

“You don’t get it,” you said with a shake of your head, ignoring my joke, “It took me way too long to find you. I can’t lose you. Not for some petty guy out to jinx us, not for anything.”

It was a question you had asked me on numerous occasions: Where had I been all these years, why hadn’t we met before we actually did. Even when posed rhetorically, I expected a question like that to sound corny and cliched, but it didn’t. It sounded sincere coming from you. Even I had asked myself the same. So your remark about having taken too long to find me didn’t surprise me.

What you said next did…


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

J

55 thoughts on “Jealous Gods | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Shailaja V April 12, 2017 / 7:49 AM

    Okay, I am going to kill you in the slowest possible manner. What did he say next? WHAT!?

    And I am not going to sequence it, so you’d better do one sequential round up at the end of the month, you hear?

    As for the jinx, I’m mostly not superstitious but yeah, have been unnerved by these things at times, so I get his fear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 12, 2017 / 8:17 AM

      😀 The J and K post are in sequence. Please spare me till you read the K post, at least (else you’ll know what he said next)

      You know, I have this inner conflict going on – I so wanna reveal the sequence at the end in the reflections post, but I also know that the story works better when read at random.

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat April 12, 2017 / 4:51 PM

      I love cliffhangers and I’m fine with it because I’m going to follow this series till the end. It’s problematic for me when I am not interested in following up :p

      Like

  2. Lata Sunil April 12, 2017 / 9:44 AM

    What did he say next? Cliffhanger?? Let me get to the jinxing thing. The guy paying compliment probably just wanted some money. But, some people are superstitious that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 12, 2017 / 10:43 AM

      Yeah, money, or frozen in ice 😀 Open to interpretation. Same goes for the cliffhanger 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Modern Gypsy April 12, 2017 / 10:41 AM

    Ack! What did he say next?? You’re going to keep us on a cliffhanger until tomorrow? Damn, woman. This isn’t fair!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 12, 2017 / 10:44 AM

      You have around 14 hours to form your conclusions 😀 It’s fun, no?

      Like

  4. Vidya Sury April 12, 2017 / 10:41 AM

    The hanging sentence. The torture for your readers. Hmmm. Let me get busy in my head now and conjecture what he may have said next. Ya know, one of my closest friends…is very good at jinxing things. Every time she said, hey, you look great, i’d fall sick. Fab sari! Sari’d tear. you know what i mean. we realized this rather soon in our relationship, when we met 28 years ago…and we continue to remain close. 😀 So, words matter. Sometimes. Hugs, Sreesha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 12, 2017 / 10:46 AM

      Oh, I know exactly what you mean! There was a story of a man in a village in Kerala, who would jinx literally everything. Every time he said anything good, it would turn to ash!

      I’d love to hear what your head is brewing right now 😀 I’m more interested in that than the actual story that I’ll post tomorrow.

      Like

  5. Shilpa Garg April 12, 2017 / 4:37 PM

    Oh, what did he say??
    He is so sweet and loving… I am wondering what happened later to them?? Cant wait to read their complete story!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anmol Rawat April 12, 2017 / 4:53 PM

    It actually reminded me of an instance in my own past. That’s what you do with your write ups, you stimulate memories. Take a break from horror and write a romance fiction :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:26 AM

      This *is* my break from horror! The more I write this, the more I get ideas to plot something else. Let’s watch though 😀

      Like

  7. Aditi Kaushiva April 12, 2017 / 5:03 PM

    Torture! This is torture! What did he say next?

    But, seriously, you are doing such a great job. And I found that joke super funny! I seriously imagined him as a guy waking up after centuries, walking on the streets in a daze and paying compliments to random people! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:26 AM

      You’ll find out today what he said next 🙂

      Imagine Captain America doing that 😛

      Like

  8. Neha April 12, 2017 / 5:42 PM

    Ouch! Somebody’s insecure and I wonder why? Love the cliffhanger. Waiting for more…
    Jealousy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mayuri6 April 12, 2017 / 6:45 PM

    I had no idea guys were superstitious too! Waiting for the next bit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:27 AM

      Oh, I know plenty! Superstition doesn’t discriminate.

      Like

  10. Namratha Varadharajan April 12, 2017 / 6:56 PM

    Ahhh!! What he say next? Direct me to the correct chapter! Pluzzzzzz…. I deserve to know NOW!

    Oh, and it’s sometimes so scary when you get this feeling that “Life is perfect”. I also get the feeling that something is going to go horribly wrong.

    Celebrating ‘Women & their work’ all April @NamySaysSo A Journalist Who Will Never Be

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:28 AM

      A similar line is there in the K post… So yeah, you’re not too far off the mark.

      Like

  11. Shubhangi Srikanth April 12, 2017 / 7:24 PM

    I sometimes believe that things get jinxed!! You never know who casts their jealous eyes on you!

    Very clever to leave it hanging like that! So how will we know what did he say next? Pls oh pls tell me which letter has the next part to this jigsaw puzzle!

    Shubhangi @ The Little Princess

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:29 AM

      I’m not yet sure if I believe it or not – I’ve seen some things happening, but you can never guess if they’re a coincidence.

      K has it 😀 I kept J and K in sequence…

      Like

  12. Karnika Kapoor (@karnikakapoor) April 12, 2017 / 7:31 PM

    Your title got me curious so I came to read…. After reading I am hooked and need to get things into perspective, It is a series I believe. So must binge over the previous posts in a while.
    Your writing style is spellbinding
    Glad I came here
    Best Wishes!
    Journey To Mars

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      Glad you liked the series! Lemme know your comments when you catch up, thanks! 🙂

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:30 AM

      Ah, don’t keep your hopes up, that’s all I’ll say 😀

      Like

  13. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 12, 2017 / 8:21 PM

    What did he say? Say it, say it.

    I sometimes believe in these superstitions. Especially after a lot of bad things have happened to me, oh yeah you know about that! Remember my plants?

    P.S: I love you. This is coming out to be so brilliant that I really wish you wrote that book soon. And to think of it you almost missed the challenge this time. I’m so glad you came on board 🙂

    Love, love, love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:31 AM

      Yeah, same with my plants too, soon after your plants 😥 😥 I’m re-building my garden now.

      Thank you 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

  14. Mithila Menezes April 12, 2017 / 9:17 PM

    Ooh! Cliffhanger, eh? It will make it only easier to piece together the story 😛

    I’ll be minimalist in my comment and say: can’t wait for tomorrow! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 13, 2017 / 8:32 AM

      Hehe J and K are in sequence. So there’s something for your timeline bingo 😀

      Like

  15. Lalita April 12, 2017 / 9:46 PM

    Who wins when we bait fate? Wow I am making bad haiku. Anyway, I have also become wary of what people say when they see happiness, how do they process it, do they send bad juju into the air what not. Sometimes, it feels a little too cynical. But rather cynical than having loved and lost…..

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Kaddu April 12, 2017 / 9:55 PM

    Really? You will leave us at that?! :O
    And when do we get to know what he said next? Tomorrow or some other day? ‘Coz you are not doing this sequentially!
    Oh well…
    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Ravish Mani April 13, 2017 / 6:57 AM

    Well, it seems to me that the person was very frightened inside. He could be violent at times. So, my piece of advice to the girl is not to involve in such relationship. lol

    Thanks, Sreesha, for teaching me how to imagine and write a story 😉

    Like

  18. Louise April 18, 2017 / 2:46 AM

    Playing some A to Z catch up and realized I’d missed this one! Another great capture of a moment. I often look at happy couples and wish them well in my head. Sounds like your characters would approve of that 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. swathishenoy April 23, 2017 / 6:56 AM

    Leaving the readers hanging like this! And to say the next chapter won’t be an answer either! Sweet torture! I wonder what he said that surprised her

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

