Happiness | #AtoZChallenge

She told me it was nice to meet me. Her manner conveyed it wasn’t nice at all.

“Who was that?” I asked you as I watched her retreating back.

“No idea. But I strongly suspect she was flirting with me,” the mock gravity in your tone suggested I should be mock appalled. Or truly appalled. I couldn’t pretend to be either.

“Oh! Poor thing. She lost one of the good ones,” I smirked.

“I’m one of the good ones?”

“Aren’t you? If you’re not, I can call her right back.”

You say nothing, but I can see you’re pleased. As am I. This lack of insecurity and jealousy is new to me, but I recognize this equal exchange of trust.

“Hey, do you want to go to the playground after this?” you ask.

“Our playground? Sure.”

*

“You’ve been quiet for a while,” you observe.

We are sitting on swings that are too low for us, toes digging into coarse sand like tiny mice.

*

When I was fifteen, and my sister was twelve, we had an argument about love. She said all love was unrequited. The person you loved was never the person who loved you. I disagreed. Because I was thinking of a celebrity couple that had gotten hitched recently. My reasoning, at age fifteen, was simple – if all love was unrequited, then where do these famous love stories come from? Her response made me laugh, “Those people are rich.”

*

At fifteen and twelve, we weren’t fully qualified to talk about the concept. All I knew is I didn’t share my sister’s belief. Being with you proved I was right. Ours wasn’t just a love returned, it was returned in full. Like an infinity ribbon. It was the perfect balance. There’s an archaic term for a love like ours – redamancy. It’s the antonym of unrequited love.

“I was thinking,” I say in reply, “of equal love. And I was thinking that I have finally found ‘home’.”

You smile, not only because you understand, but also because you hear the words I’m not saying.

What does it take, I muse, for someone as detached as me to fall in love?


 

Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

H

51 thoughts on “Happiness | #AtoZChallenge

  1. aslifehappens60 April 10, 2017 / 6:04 AM

    Sreesha, I have fallen in love too- with your writing style. :)Beautiful story .Also, thanks for adding randamancy to my dictionary. I like the concept of the very rare “equal love “.
    Best wishes .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mayuri Nidigallu April 10, 2017 / 8:47 AM

    I must admit I am addicted to these snippets you’re sharing. It almost seems like being let in on a precious secret.
    Simply brilliant writing, Sreesha!

    Mayuri

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lata Sunil April 10, 2017 / 1:40 PM

    Hmm.. Unrequited love. Also, if she is not jealous or insecure, does she really love him? Or is she unattached and just like the idea of him being in love with her? I would say, when a person is in love, then jealousy and insecurity has no place in it. Because, you are happy with the happiness of your loved one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 10, 2017 / 4:24 PM

      I’ll try to explain it a little mathematically 😀 Assume you love someone an x amount, and they love you back an x amount. Since it is equal, there is no space for jealousy or insecurity. However, if you love someone x and they love you y (y could be greater than or less than x), then in that space, or in that difference between x and y, that’s where insecurity creeps in.
      So these two love each other equally, and there’s no space for negativity here, that’s why it doesn’t bother her when someone tries to flirt with him. She trusts him enough to know she needn’t be worried.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 10, 2017 / 4:24 PM

      Thank you, Chicky. I have to thank Anita Nair for that, from whose books I learnt that technique. 🙂

      Like

  4. Shilpa Garg April 10, 2017 / 2:22 PM

    God!! I love this and I love their little but so meaningful exchange and love the way their love is growing. I like this word, redamancy, was not aware of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 10, 2017 / 4:26 PM

      I love that word. Too bad it isn’t in use anymore. I think we should make it popular again! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Natasha April 10, 2017 / 3:09 PM

    Sreesha another brilliant one yet again. You have to turn this into a book.

    Love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 10, 2017 / 4:26 PM

      Thanks Natasha 🙂 Let’s see by Z what my thoughts are on the book 😀

      Like

  6. sanchwrites April 10, 2017 / 3:38 PM

    I loved this one. The description of toes digging into the sand like mice, the scene with the sisters and then the finale. So beautiful!

    Harrisham Rhyme – Over

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anmol Rawat April 10, 2017 / 5:07 PM

    You paint an imagery with your words!

    “We are sitting on swings that are too low for us, toes digging into coarse sand like tiny mice.”

    I don’t know if all people read the same way, but such lines paint an image in your mind. You can feel yourself observing them on the swings.

    Another lovely addition to your series Sreesha!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Menaka Bharathi April 10, 2017 / 5:46 PM

    I totally love this..Very beautiful put about loved..Loved your detailing too…It is actually a nice feeling to fall in love..Just like your series..very beatiful

    Launching SIM Organics This April
    *Menaka Bharathi *
    *SimpleIndianMom*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Geetika Gupta April 10, 2017 / 5:48 PM

    Oh so beautiful, Sreesha! I used to believe in unrequited love but not anymore. At the same time, if you fall the right person, you get love beyond your imagination.

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:13 AM

      I used to believe in unrequited love too. Oh the number of poems I’ve written! 😛
      Now I’m not so sure.
      Yes, I agree with you there. It’s about finding the right person, and knowing that it isn’t the big things, but the small things that matter 🙂

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:13 AM

      That’s an interesting take on it. Rings true to me… Thanks, Titli 🙂

      Like

  10. Lalita April 10, 2017 / 8:58 PM

    Unrequited love will probably save the world. The things we do or who we become when what we feel is the greatest love of our life is not returned could be life-defining. So achingly beautiful this build-up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:15 AM

      I believe it is possible to love someone so much that it doesn’t matter if it’s unrequited. It’s the most selfless kind of love there is.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 10, 2017 / 9:05 PM

    Strange, but I’ve always felt detached people fall in love more easily. They don’t fear the commitment or the promise as they don’t believe in it. It is more simpler for them I thought.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:18 AM

      Possible, but they would always have their guard up, IMO. It’s difficult to lower those defences. For instance, in my case, my detachment stems from my trust issues. So I think I’ve been in *love* love only 1.5 times (0.5 cos it was one-sided :P)

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:19 AM

      There was a passage in Paulo Coelho’s Brida about how Brida’s mother finds a soul connection with someone who stayed in her life only for half an hour. She never forgets that man or the conversation they had. I think it was beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Namratha Varadharajan April 11, 2017 / 11:39 AM

      Yes I remember that one. Being a person who loves the idea of a soulmate, that book is one of my favourites.

      Like

  12. Mithila Menezes April 10, 2017 / 9:28 PM

    So, redamancy exists? It seems like such a theoretical concept, and I have had enough of them today. (Studies, revision, the works). I’ll take a your word for it, and keep a tiny hope alive of equal love, and in the back of my mind, sincerely hope it comes true for me and my celebrity crush 😍😁

    This entire post is so feel-good, sweet and exudes positive vibes, and is the perfect Monday read! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:21 AM

      I wish I could say yes. Cos lately even I have been dreaming of starting a Twitter campaign to get my celebrity crush to notice me (he’s not in Twitter, but his band is). He doesn’t know yet what he’s missing 😛

      Like

  13. Vidya Sury April 10, 2017 / 9:29 PM

    I love your explanation to Lata Sunil.

    Unrequited love is sad. The infinity ribbon kind of love is wonderful. I actually share that with a few friends, including my life pardner. And while the love is solid, we do have our x and y imbalances, which make life interesting–especially the making up. So much fun.

    She may consider herself detached (I used to think the same of myself), but it is probably because she can look at the situation objectively. If she loves equally, and her love is returned, all is well. But… 🙂

    Hugs, Sreesha. You do realize I am sashaying into my own conclusions with this series eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:23 AM

      I can’t wait to hear your conclusions. I mean of course I won’t confirm or deny 😛 But will be fun to read.

      Yes, while there’s an equal love here, we’ll get to the “But…” part of it shortly 🙂

      Like

  14. reemamichelle April 10, 2017 / 10:07 PM

    Such a lovely love story! Hope that this love lasts forever.
    Sreesha, you have a fan! I’m in awe of the magic you create everyday with these lovely pieces of fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Louise April 11, 2017 / 6:08 AM

    I am now humming the song “Love Stinks” which I know from the Wedding Singer. ie: “He loves her. But she loves him. And he loves somebody else. You just can’t win. And so it goes until the day you die! That thing they call love is going to make you cry…” Of course he then finds his true love – proving the song wrong 🙂

    Another good read today – thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 11, 2017 / 8:24 AM

      Yup, we’ve all gone through the Love Stinks/Love Hurts phase I guess, until… 😀

      Thanks, Louise 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Rajlakshmi April 13, 2017 / 9:59 AM

    awww that ending… how how do you tug every single chord in my heart… I actually read backwards from the Kashmir post to this and you have managed to make every single post stand out. Girl, the way you handle emotions with your words!!! It’s such a pleasure to read your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 21, 2017 / 8:13 AM

      Thank you so much, Raj 🙂 Glad you’re liking the series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

