Epiphany | #AtoZChallenge

I never told you about something that happened on the day we were introduced to each other.

Tonight, I saw you from a distance as you were walking to the spot where we agreed to meet. You were wearing a grey sweatshirt with some red lettering on it. You increased your pace when you saw I was already waiting. I felt shy at this sudden and unexpected turn our friendship had taken. I wanted to tell you before the night was over that this would never work. Snap the band-aid, end it before it was too late.

Until, that is, you touched my hair.

*

A couple of years ago, when we were introduced by someone we both used to know, you didn’t speak a word to me or even acknowledge my presence. I walked away after standing next to you for a few moments, feeling awkward.

I kept telling myself that you weren’t aloof or rude, that you weren’t arrogant, that you weren’t ignoring me. That you were just introverted. Remember this, I told myself. I had no clue why it felt so important.

*

We sat down with our beers, and I began to peel off the label of mine, as I tried to figure out how best to tell you that this was a bad idea. You reached across the table, held a strand of my hair between your index and middle fingers, and tucked it gently behind my ear. Your thumb brushed against my earlobe.

In that simple gesture, I could see timelines merging, present colliding with the past, memories resurfacing. Perhaps, if such things were true, I had sent a message back in time to me from all those years ago. Telling that version of me not to dismiss or forget you. Reminding myself not to forget that moment     because this moment was about to happen.


 

Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

E

63 thoughts on “Epiphany | #AtoZChallenge

  1. aslifehappens60 April 6, 2017 / 7:35 AM

    Sreesha , i love the subtlety and refinement in your writing . so much to learn from you.
    Best wishes,
    Moon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:18 AM

      I’m honored and humbled you’d say that. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. swathishenoy April 6, 2017 / 11:54 AM

    I love the way you write. How you bring out smallest details n explain them in a way that make them so important. Love it 🙂

    Exams

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Soumya (@soumyaprasad) April 6, 2017 / 12:15 PM

    Details, details, details – so beautiful!

    I have mixed feelings about this post. A part of it hurts terribly and another smiles at having been there and experienced it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. adodani April 6, 2017 / 12:59 PM

    This is so beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lata Sunil April 6, 2017 / 2:02 PM

    Wow.. I am wondering where is it going. Well written, with so few words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:24 AM

      🙂 I hope it’s going somewhere 😛 😀 Stay tuned, we’ll find out together!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Namratha Varadharajan April 6, 2017 / 2:21 PM

    I hadn’t realized before that reading a story in the wrong order makes it so much more interesting. Keep going strong:) Waiting for the series to unfold

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:25 AM

      Glad this little experiment is working out then 😀

      Thanks for reading, Namratha!

      Like

  7. Kaddu April 6, 2017 / 2:42 PM

    I like this style of writing sometimes. Where it is not in linear order. It was very apt in your story today. And I love how you describe all the details without overdoing it.
    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:27 AM

      I was nervous about doing it non-linearly at first, but after the comments I’ve received, I think it’s working out 🙂 Thanks, Chicky!

      Like

  8. Shilpa Garg April 6, 2017 / 4:03 PM

    Love this episode too. I like their subtle romance that’s coming live in front of us through your beautiful writing, Sreesha. Great going ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Louise April 6, 2017 / 4:21 PM

    Nicely done! It’s interesting the moments that come to matter and how they are remembered. You have captured it really well here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:32 AM

      Yes, it’s always the small, seemingly insignificant moments that we remember in the end.

      Thank you so much, Louise 🙂

      Like

  10. sanchwrites April 6, 2017 / 4:56 PM

    Your descriptions are so vivid…I can visualise the scene occurring in front of me. Loving this series!

    Etheree – Dreary

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Modern Gypsy April 6, 2017 / 6:23 PM

    Oh, my heart just turned to mush! Love this!! I almost want all the rest of vignettes already so I can devour the rest of the story!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. inquisitivegeet April 6, 2017 / 7:47 PM

    So far, this one is my favorite Sreesha!
    More power to you 🙂

    Cheers
    BoisterousBee

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:35 AM

      So glad! This is one of the ones I had most fun writing so far. 🙂

      Like

  13. Mithila Menezes April 6, 2017 / 8:52 PM

    The last paragraph reminded me of HP 3, when Harry and Hermione use the Time Turner together. How they understood everything, when they relived the past after witnessing the future.

    I loved the way you merged two flashbacks in one post! Super fabulous, Sreesha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:42 AM

      I’ve not watched it, though it’s been on my radar for a while. Will check it out 🙂

      Like

    • Lalita April 7, 2017 / 6:45 PM

      Give it some time to grow on you. Its actually not very well reviewed, so stay with it a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Shailaja V April 6, 2017 / 10:29 PM

    An intruder-like feel for me in this post, as if I am privy to a moment I’m not really meant to see, but I can’t look away, because it’s so achingly beautiful. Yes, that’s it. Achingly beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:43 AM

      This is one of the best things I’ve heard since I started this. Thank you, Shai ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Vidya Sury April 6, 2017 / 10:42 PM

    Ah, this is gentle too! Quietly falling-in-love-but-holding-back-a-little romantic. Nice slowing down. Wonder what F will bring!

    Hugs, Sreesha!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. reemamichelle April 6, 2017 / 10:45 PM

    Such a happy-sad tale. What changed from the past to the present? I wonder! Lovely piece of writing again Sreesha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:52 AM

      Ah, isn’t that the lesson in life, how things change? 🙂
      So glad you liked it, Reema ❤

      Like

  17. Anmol Rawat April 7, 2017 / 12:27 PM

    And this comes from a follower of ‘Sri Sri Stephen King’? 😀
    Lovely writing as usual Sreesha. 🙂 It could be a pocket-book when you are done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 12:45 PM

      Haha, you’ll find out in my Theme Reveal post why I switched genres.

      Also, Stephen King is a pro at this. Roland Deschain and Susan Delgado’s love story is one of the best romances I’ve read. It made me bawl like a baby. Most modern romance writers pale in comparison.

      Thank you so much for your kind words! 🙂

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat April 7, 2017 / 12:59 PM

      I do need to pick up the Dark Tower series, I believe! Presently reading Mr Mercedes. Was reading I meant, coz A to Z is going to keep me packed this month, I guess.

      Like

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 1:03 PM

      Hehehe, you need to invest some time for Dark Tower. I stopped blogging for nearly two months while I was reading it. It was breathtakingly fantastic and I couldn’t focus on anything else. 😛

      Like

    • Anmol Rawat April 7, 2017 / 2:24 PM

      That’s the thing! I’m so distracted that it too me about 7-8 months to finish IT. I loved the book, but couldn’t leave blogging, tv series, movies, messing around music production software and endlessly collecting the most irrelevant information on internet about things I may never use :p

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 2:38 PM

      IT is a chubby, huge bully of a book (whose mere size I’m intimidated by). Same with The Stand. And Stand makes you paranoid. While I was reading it, if anyone coughed or sneezed in my vicinity, I would walk far, far away from them. 😛

      Like

  18. Chandnimoudgil April 8, 2017 / 5:02 PM

    Maybe it was déjà Vu that she felt when the future and past collide . Isn’t that what it’s called ?
    I am going to stand all night to buy this book when hits the bookstores S!
    It’s definitely not minimalist . It’s a book waiting to be written and a movie with OsT referencing already in place .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 8, 2017 / 10:41 PM

      Deja vu isn’t what I was going for – that’s when the same moment in the present feels like it has happened before. Over here, it’s like when they first met, he was very quiet, and his silence should have bothered him, but didn’t. Cos she kept telling herself that he’s just reserved, and not aloof. She didn’t know why she felt it was so important to remember that. But later on, when he asks her out, and touches her hair, she feels, maybe present me and past me met somewhere in a continuum and talked about it. Vague concept, which I was probably not very articulate about in my story. But I hope it’s not too messy…?

      Thanks, Chandni 🙂

      Like

  19. jazzfeathers April 9, 2017 / 11:31 PM

    Really, really liked it. Such a sweet, romantic story, and I like the idea of an older self that warns her younger self so to allow her to be happy

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – 1940s Film Noir

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 10, 2017 / 9:30 AM

      Thanks! I don’t know if such things actually happen, but I like to believe they do. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

