Arriving Somewhere, But Not Here | #AtoZChallenge

I don’t go to that side of town anymore, where you used to live. Even the thought of it haunts me, the once-familiar geography tortures me even in memory. The neighborhood is filled with ghosts waiting to devour me.Β The lake that you could see from your terrace has a specter looming over it. The park nearby is filled with vampire children.

I’m so afraid I’ll run into you. But I’ll be disappointed ifΒ I don’t.

Someday maybe I’ll visit, though I already know you live somewhere else now. Someday, after these ghosts have been laid to rest.

 


Hi everyone! I’m working on a minimalist fiction project for this year’s #AtoZChallenge. The story will be shared in snippets, and the events occur non-sequentially. It is for the reader to interpret and form the “whole”. You can read all the posts here. Join me, and do share links to your AtoZ posts as well!

a

81 thoughts on “Arriving Somewhere, But Not Here | #AtoZChallenge

  1. Shailaja V April 1, 2017 / 12:05 AM

    This gave me the chills. Probably not the best post to read at midnight. But woman, am so glad you’re writing again. This is gold.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:15 PM

      Thank you, Shai. I’m glad, it’s been so long, I had no idea how it would turn out πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. umanigith April 1, 2017 / 2:15 AM

    Eerie post 😐
    It’s lovely that you can create this emotion in a readers mind πŸ‘πŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Isheeria's Healing Circles April 1, 2017 / 2:21 AM

    Oh man! Is this a blurb of a bestseller? Read it twice… And 2 different stories/thoughts emerged! Bravo on yr 1st post for atoz this year! Cheets, Ishieta@Isheeria’sHealingCircles

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ramya April 1, 2017 / 9:50 AM

    Very nice… Reminded me of similar thoughts playing in my mind for a long time. Its ages since i left my home town bangalore, after my dad passed away. And i am unable to go back to that lane and home of mine. Its as though there’s some ghost hanuting me. But still, i do wish someday i shall muster up.the courage to go back and walk down that street where i once lived.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:17 PM

      Thank you for sharing this, Ramya. I hope one day you do come back to Bangalore. Hugs.

      Like

  5. Jaibala Rao April 1, 2017 / 4:09 PM

    Something like this was going through my mind a while back, seems like ages ago. But yes I feel this emotion really strongly, maybe because I have actually felt it too. Haunting, powerful and real.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:20 PM

      I’m happy you could connect with this, Jai. Let’s hope all the ghosts are laid to rest someday.

      Like

  6. Mithila Menezes April 1, 2017 / 4:59 PM

    I’m guessing the ghosts, vampires and spectres are metaphors for something else that will come in your later posts. I won’t reveal what I think it is, though πŸ˜€

    Off to a brilliantly gloomy and dark start! I can’t wait to see how the story unveils. Is this the first AtoZChallenge where there is a gap between the first day and second day of posting? *sits under blanket and waits for Monday*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:22 PM

      I really really wanna know what you think it is.
      As for it being a metaphor, I won’t reveal much at this point. I will tell you it does tie up in the end, though not as metaphors. Shhh. Not literally either (this should keep you guessing for a while πŸ˜› )

      Liked by 1 person

  7. pythoroshan April 1, 2017 / 5:23 PM

    I don’t know. Others seem to think it’s horror here in the comments but somehow I felt it was more poignant and heartfelt.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:23 PM

      Bang on. It’s not horror. The haunting that the protagonist feels is more of the mind and the heart.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Beat About The Book April 1, 2017 / 6:12 PM

    I felt for the protagonist. She/he seems hanged by memories, sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Beat About The Book April 1, 2017 / 6:32 PM

    *Haunted, I meant :-P.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:24 PM

      Yes, Tulika, you’re right. I promise though, the upcoming posts will be happier πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. akaushiva April 1, 2017 / 6:33 PM

    There are some ties that haunt you long after they are broken. Beautifully done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:25 PM

      They do, don’t they?
      Thanks, Aditi. Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. sanchthewriter April 1, 2017 / 6:54 PM

    Umm just a little bit creepy there with ghosts and vampires even though I get that wasn’t the point of the story! It’s just after midnight here and maybe that’s why. There are some relationships that only time can heal

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:28 PM

      And some that even time cannot.
      I just can’t seem to keep the ghosts out of my writing, no matter what I promise myself! The rest of the posts can be read at any hour though. They’ll be happier times in this tale πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. Vidya Sury April 1, 2017 / 7:24 PM

    You know I had a weird feeling of being in a dream–the sort I usually get after I watch a psychological thriller. And no, not reading it at night. I enjoy horror in fact, especially the psychological thriller type. Now you’ve made me want to remember what that dream was. It freaks me out to have unfinished stuff that keeps floating in and out of the mind. I am sad for the person you wrote about. Hugs! Waiting to see B.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:35 PM

      I know you love horror, my fellow Stephen King fan. Muahh! Horror fans are the best.
      That feeling’s the worst. Not just these half forgotten dreams, but you know when you feel like you know something and it’s at the tip of your tongue, but you just can’t grasp it. That’s just as awful!

      Like

  13. ghostmmnc April 1, 2017 / 8:15 PM

    Hi, Sreesha! Wonderful way to start off the A to Z! Looking forward to your upcoming posts! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Rajlakshmi April 1, 2017 / 8:23 PM

    wow… this is so intense and evokes powerful imageries… absolutely loved this piece. It’s heartbreaking and sad and I love all those kind of feelings in a story. I can’t wait to see what you got next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:37 PM

      So glad you liked it, Raj. We’ll zigzag between happy and sad in this story πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. Iain Kelly April 1, 2017 / 9:12 PM

    Great idea for the challenge, look forward to reading the different snippets and forming a story. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Kaddu April 1, 2017 / 10:15 PM

    I got a poignant feel too… not horror. Perhaps, I interpret it like that because of my mental/emotional state and experiences? Saddening.
    Looking forward to the rest of the posts. Maybe connect the dots?
    Happy AtoZing!
    Chicky @ http://www.mysteriouskaddu.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:40 PM

      You’re right. It’s not horror, it’s heartbreak. Sometimes the pain of it can lead us to imagine the worst horrors and stop us from doing things that remind us of it or of the person who caused it.
      Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Kaddu April 3, 2017 / 4:48 PM

      Yes, that’s exactly what I meant.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. crissdude April 1, 2017 / 11:02 PM

    Wow! That’s how you start with a bang.

    Can’t wait for more. Lay those ghosts to rest already,,,

    Cheers,
    CRD

    Liked by 1 person

  18. lifestyleproblog April 2, 2017 / 12:58 AM

    Powerful imagery and longing… all in a few words…. am looking forward to the rest πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Shilpa Garg April 2, 2017 / 6:05 AM

    This is so hauntingly beautiful. I can’t wait to see how the story unfolds. Love your theme and looking forward to read all your posts to form the ‘whole’ story in my head!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 3, 2017 / 9:12 AM

      Super glad you mentioned that line – I wanted it capture the essence of the whole post.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. RamyaRao April 2, 2017 / 9:23 AM

    When amazing and terror happens at the same time. But its so brilliantly written, reminds me of the term ghosts of past.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 3, 2017 / 9:13 AM

      Yup, you’re on point! ghosts of the past is what I was going for πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it!

      Like

  21. Lata Sunil April 2, 2017 / 3:24 PM

    Wow Sreesha. Wonderful start. It just felt too close to home for me. I visited my childhood place last week and had the same thoughts. I was looking for ghosts. This line sums up what I felt – “I’m so afraid I’ll run into you. But I’ll be disappointed if I don’t.”

    The eyes do look out, the heart beats faster, but its the brain that controls them now. Waiting for the next instalment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 3, 2017 / 9:15 AM

      Glad you could connect! Stay tuned; the theme of this will take a u-turn in the upcoming posts πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Soumya Prasad April 3, 2017 / 5:52 PM

    Sigh, been there. There are still some areas in Bangalore that I dread to visit. Some memories are never buried. Sadly.

    Loved the start! :*

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Anmol Rawat (@authoranmol) April 5, 2017 / 12:40 PM

    “I’m so afraid I’ll run into you. But I’ll be disappointed if I don’t.”
    I’m stuck at this! It’s poignant in a way, right? How true though.
    Loved it! You are an awesome writer Sreesha. Somehow I find myself connected to what you write. It’s the way you describe things, I believe or may be the narration. All the best for the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 5, 2017 / 1:35 PM

      Wow you just made my day with all your comments!

      Glad you could connect. Hope to find you here more often. Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Like

  24. deepagandhi April 6, 2017 / 10:25 PM

    Why didn’t I read it before? I went to D just now and knew that I had to read earlier parts. You are a great writer.
    Hopping over to B C D and E πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 7, 2017 / 8:02 AM

      Thank you, Deepa. While the stories are connected, they can be read in any order πŸ™‚ Enjoy and stay tuned!

      Like

Leave a Reply

