Unsent Letters

He walked up to me, wheeling two large suitcases, and asked if the seat next to me was taken. I said it was not. He was new to the city. Originally from your hometown – something I’d guessed even before he said it. His mannerisms were so much like yours. He was right out of college, optimistic and wildly enthusiastic, bubbling with newfound energy. It reminded me of us at that age, when we were still together.

I saw you a few months ago at the mall. The same day that you saw me – yes, I caughtΒ you turning away just as I looked up. There was indecision in your face; I’m sure it was mirrored in mine – do we speak? Do we smile? Or do we ignore? Do we pretend to forget?

A few aisles across, in the aisle for baby products to be exact, your wife was examining something on display. She was with a woman with a broken nose. Your mother. The frail short woman with the broken nose and kind voice. Am I still the only one who knows that story? Or did you tell your wife about it?

I noticed your hairline was receding, and there was a bit of grey. I wondered what you noticed when you saw me – the newly formed double chin or the lines that were beginning to show?

The chatty boy next to me was right out of college. And I ask myself, has it been that long? It seems like yesterday; it also seems like forever ago.

 

 


Note: This week a lot of us are talking about the upcoming A to Z challenge. Unsent Letters was the theme I had decided on at first before switching to my currently untitled minimalist fiction project. I didn’t want this chapter to go waste, so sharing it today πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Unsent Letters

  1. Shailaja V March 27, 2017 / 8:30 AM

    This is so beautiful! Also, it qualifies as minimalist to me πŸ™‚ You say so much in so little and leave so much unsaid and keep the reader guessing. That’s an art. Can’t wait for April.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:10 PM

      Glad you liked it πŸ™‚ Yes, this is a minimalist piece too. There were two story outlines I had. I decided to go with the other one. Maybe I’ll come back to this one next year πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Lata Sunil March 27, 2017 / 9:39 AM

    Loved this story.. I want more.. what is with the broken nose. Did they look at each other with disdain? anger? contempt? Do they still treasure the love or think it was a mistake. Quite a start to so many possibilities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:11 PM

      Interpret away, my dear! How do you want this story to go? Choose your own plot πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beat About The Book March 27, 2017 / 11:11 AM

    There’s so much left unsaid here. So many questions answered. Really looking forward to your A to Z posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Soumya Prasad March 28, 2017 / 6:18 PM

    Brings back memories, so many of it. Some not very pleasant.

    Looking forward to your A to Z if the posts are gonna be so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Divakaran April 1, 2017 / 10:13 PM

      Thank you, Zoe πŸ™‚ Although, I’m still not so confident about my A to Z posts. We’ll just wait and watch πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

