Waking Up To Brown

“What is the one color you would never use to paint your room?” he asked.

“Brown,” I said without missing a beat.

“Why?”

“It’s so dull and depressing. Waking up to that every morning is not something I imagine is a pleasant experience.”

My answer niggled at my mind for the rest of the day. As if I had lied. I had given that answer without so much as a thought; aren’t answers you give without thinking often the truth? Why then did that answer feel like a blunder? After all, there were actual blunders I could waste time pondering over and feeling foolish.

I reached home, exhausted after a long walk, and plopped into bed. It was then that I noticed the walls.

Why had this never registered before?

10 thoughts on “Waking Up To Brown

  1. Chandnimoudgil March 13, 2017 / 8:34 AM

    Clearly her subconscious had registered it and was sending her signals ? But brown can be a beautiful colour .. If you are in that state of mind . I believe in the power of colours .. But a lot of times the colours reflect our mood … Like it did for her in this case ?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 23, 2017 / 11:56 AM

      I also believe in the power of colours. Here’s where my opinion differs with a lot of people who use blue to denote sadness – I think of blue as the exact opposite.

      Like

  2. Beat About The Book March 15, 2017 / 10:47 AM

    She seems unhappy. I think colours, like smells, are also a bit about the memories they evoke. She needs to repaint those walls.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 23, 2017 / 11:57 AM

      She definitely does! Maybe something more vibrant.

      Like

    • Sreesha Diva March 23, 2017 / 11:57 AM

      Hehe, a little like me too 😛

      Like

  3. Jaibala Rao March 19, 2017 / 9:42 AM

    If they could add the aroma of coffee to the brown colour I would not mind it so much. But yes I do believe that colours, like music reflect the mood of a person. So maybe she needs some cheering up – maybe like lunch with her best friend 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 23, 2017 / 11:58 AM

      I think if the walls were wood, it wouldn’t be so bad.
      Cheering up, and some new paint 😀

      Like

  4. crissdude March 20, 2017 / 8:15 AM

    Brown doesn’t sound so bad at all. You could maybe start using a chocolate-scented room freshener to complete the environment. 😉

    On the other hand, maybe if you used a brighter colour, it could alter your thought process….

    Let’s just stick with brown for now, shall we?

    Cheers,
    CRD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 23, 2017 / 11:59 AM

      Chocolate scented air freshener, hmmm… Probably. Maybe it’s a decor issue as well?

      Like

Leave a Reply

