Mr. Heckles and I

H joined our team at work a couple of years ago and disliked me almost instantly. I say “almost” because at first (during the first week at least), she tried hard to force her way into our group. We were a tad cliquey back then, but polite nevertheless – after all, we all knew how intimidating it is to be the new team member (plus, we were adults – cliques do not exist in the kingdom of adulthood). But seeing just how hard she was trying made us suffer from secondhand embarrassment – she monopolized conversations, gave out too much personal information, invited herself to our little outings without being asked.

It became apparent that H had some kind of a problem with me specifically. I was assigned to train her; she was hierarchically above me, but I’d spent more time with the project. I suspect her dislike stemmed from her considering me “unqualified” to train her – despite my tenure with the team, I was still the youngest. She made her displeasure about it known quite vocally multiple times, in multiple crowds, in multiple terms. She also often put me down because I was married, and a mom, and according to her “unsuitable in the workforce due to these reasons”. Talk about unfeminist!

Her dislike grew because I was no less vocal than she once I started noticing her behavior, which had, by then, turned badly unprofessional. The others were quite diplomatic in the way they handled her; I’m not particularly adept in that department. Later on, the others too dropped their pretenses, except my friend B, who was by then the only one still polite to her. B is a good person that way.

Just a few months after being with us, H decided to quit. I was overcome with guilt, and began to wonder if I should have done something differently, tried harder to be nice in the face of her hostility (instead of paying her back in her own coin). I’m pretty sure there’s a list somewhere of people who hate me vehemently, and I’ve always found their hate amusing. So this was no inherent need in me to be liked by all. Why this uncharacteristic change of heart in her case then? Out of fear.

I found out that she liked Howard Roark, on whom I’d had a huge crush at one point (as huge as crushes on fictional characters go – in many a fantasy, I have wished I was Dominique Francon). I tried to use our mutual affection for Roark to extend an olive branch. She (obviously) did not reciprocate, at which point, I was filled with a cold dread that led to this conversation between B and me:

Me: Oh my God, she’s Mr. Heckles. She’s my Mr. Heckles. And I’m Chandler.

B: What rubbish! What makes you even think that? The two of you have nothing in common. 

Me: She likes Howard Roark. I don’t know anyone else who does. Except me.*

B: Big deal! She’s not Mr. Heckles. You’re not Chandler.

Me (borderline hysterical): The woman is always complaining about me. When I look at her, I see myself ten years down the line – bitter, miserable, bitching about people. What if I really turn into her? What if I die alone like Mr. Heckles?

B (pretty annoyed at this point): You’re not gonna die alone. Shut up now.

*There were other things which I mentioned – but let’s not elaborate.

This seems melodramatic to me now, but back then, I was convinced beyond all reason that a fate filled with jealousy and loneliness (and dying alone) awaited me. As you already know, in spite of knowing better, the influence of certain situations/people has often clouded the way I think and led me to believe strange things. I genuinely began to see her as a future version of me. Maybe that was my guilt talking. Maybe I was more affected by her hate that I needed to be.

That’s not the only reason why I never forgot her either (I had a moment a few months ago where I couldn’t recollect her name, but it came back to me eventually). Just a few months after H quit, I did too. Since then, I’ve been landing only in projects/organizations that do not have a team structure for my role (what a weird coincidence), and therefore I do not have any opportunities to mingle with people. I don’t do well when I don’t talk to others – I’m just programmed that way (unhealthy co-dependence and a need to yak with people whom I’m on similar wavelengths with) – and this explains my (joke of a) career graph in the past two years. When I think about that, the guilt resurfaces. Followed by the fear.

What do you think, Reader? Do you ever get accosted by fears like mine? 

chatty-blogs-150x150
Linking to #ChattyBlogs

Edit: Added #ChattyBlogs badge.

5 thoughts on “Mr. Heckles and I

  1. nomadwrites February 6, 2017 / 6:56 PM

    The “like” wasn’t for that you aren’t getting opportunities to mingle (clearing it given you think so much :P) Phew! That was some brainstorming. The only guilt that resurfaces to me (accounting for all my lil brain can do) is the last when I hadn’t finished my favorite food 😀
    Also, i am sure now that you don’t see her as your future version (do you?) there’s not much point of guilt either. Shouldn’t be. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva February 13, 2017 / 9:24 AM

      Since she’s not in my immediate circle, I don’t actively view her as a future version of myself, but that thought is there somewhere at the back of my mind. Guess fear never truly goes away once it’s taken root.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. shanayatales February 7, 2017 / 9:26 AM

    I can understand why you might feel guilty, but there are many reasons people do what they do. And in this case, she wasn’t the innocent victim either. So it is difficult for me to feel sorry for her. But then that’s just me; I am far from attaining the zen like state of self-sacrifice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva February 13, 2017 / 9:26 AM

      To achieve zen would be so cool; imagine being this rubbery surface that everything just bounces off. Ahhh delightful!
      Granted she was not a “victim” victim; she did a lot worse to me than I to her, that too without any provocation. Instant dislike can’t be helped. Maybe I’m just being weird out of some kind of over-sensitivity that I had or something. Guess I need to toughen up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

