Everything Must Go

First it was goodreads.

Well, obviously. What else could it be, knowing me. It’s cluttered with nearly everything everyone’s ever recommended. Friends, acquaintances, even enemies. Even the site’s own recommendations based on what you’ve already read. Which is a good thing; it isn’t annoying like Facebook’s People You May Know. Even a bad book, after all, trumps human beings. I had even added books based on my mood or ideology – I went through a phase where I added a bunch of Christopher Hitchens and Dawkins and whatnot.

All the books I own are enshrined in a lovely oak wood shelf in my room, placed in a way that it’s the first thing I see when I wake up. Creepy, perhaps, but better than mirrors or photographs of lovers. Never one to willingly give in to egotism or sentimentality. There was no way anything was going to happen to those books, so it was goodreads that took it. For really, an ideology is for yourself. If I am an atheist or a feminist, I already know that that is what I am without having to read a book about it. I don’t need other authors to validate what I already know. When you realize that, you suddenly wonder why there are books on the subject on your TBR shelf. They may be interesting, but why read over and over what you already know. So out they all went, books I had added in the spur of the moment, knowing for sure I would never read.

A relative’s solution to all of the world’s problems is to clean. Pick up a mop, scrub or duster, and clean. every surface, wood, marble, glass; clean. I never believed in that wisdom, because it is but a distraction, the newly shined house, much like a new haircut, or new clothes. A distraction, not a solution.

A distraction of the kind that would explain the mountains and mountains of clothes piled up in my wardrobe. My old roommate would often complain to her friends about how I had too many clothes that took up precious shared closet space. I didn’t have a fraction back then as I do now. Or did, until recently. The depression led to more and more being bought and brought in, until they piled on, piled on and on like garbage, like vomit, like the blackness in my mind threatening to swallow me whole, like the wooden doors of my wardrobe were an obese stomach about to burst through the shirt that tried to hold it in. I couldn’t take it anymore. They disgusted me, once what were my favourite colours and shades. So they went next, after the many books on virtual goodreads shelves. Eight large bags. Why in hell did I have so many clothes? Why do I still have so many that I can go on for months without having to repeat. Why, really? I have no paparazzi hounding me waiting to smear me the moment I was seen in the same outfit twice. Why then do I have this ridiculous number of clothes and shoes? They went next, the shoes. Even looking at my little indulgences made me sick to my stomach, like a bug from mayonnaise gone bad.

Having gotten rid of these little materialistic things, I let go of friends, both false and true. So many of the former, so few of the latter. The ones that mattered and the ones that didn’t. And strange how quickly they scattered, for what was I but a speck of dust in their minds, swatted away with the lightest gush of breeze. The shock of it, as if they were waiting for me to say goodbye so they could finally leave. The surprise at the support from unknown, unexpected quarters. I bade them all goodbye for who they were friends
with once wasn’t who I had turned into; they deserved none of it, none of
my burdens, no matter how obligated they felt to shoulder it. I couldn’t figure out myself who I had turned into.

Then the connections to them – the internet, for who makes phone calls
anymore. Does anyone? If someone does, I don’t answer; so much easier to not
let anyone hear my voice, worried that they may ask what truly happened and worried that my voice might crack and shatter like the mirror I refuse to look at.

Then went the music. The new phone is a stupid piece of junk. It has the storage memory that could as well have been a small single digit number and the stupid thing doesn’t even come with an external memory slot. So out went the music, the favourites, the ones that
made me cry and smile and reminisce. But I’m only pinning blame because I am pushing off admitting that music had been on its way out since the past couple of years. Why have I, whose life and emotions were so inextricably tied with music, denied myself this simple, but necessary pleasure? Why tear off a part of my soul like the skin off my palms? I can’t say, I don’t know, except that all the roots begin at one place.

I do not wish to give up writing. I don’t think I could. But who am I fooling, I couldn’t write well if my life depended on it. I do it cos it gives me something to do, somewhere to vent. And in all honesty, I wish for once someone would give me something more than empty words. I waited and waited some more; I wrote and I wrote some more. But I can’t. Not anymore.

I’m exhausted.

tl;dr: hiatus.

8 thoughts on “Everything Must Go

  1. shanayatales August 14, 2016 / 11:36 PM

    Hugs, Sreesha. I honestly don’t know what to say, but I feel compelled to say something here, even knowing that I am not good at getting the right words out.

    I don’t know what you are going through, but at the moment, I am fighting a battle of my own, so I understand how you are feeling. Because, even if our battles are unique, our state of mind is pretty similar.

    I have taken to cleaning too. And it has been working for me. Plug in an audiobook and clean – it has been my slice of heaven, my sense of calm, while a storm rages outside.

    I have chosen to bide my time in my slice of heaven, and wait for the storm to pass. Which I know, it will pass. For me, and for you. Until then, we need to stay strong.

    Please know that – you are in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva January 11, 2017 / 3:32 PM

      Hey Shantala! I’m so grateful for your support, so, so, so grateful, I wish I could tell you how much. You’ve been sending me warm thoughts throughout my struggle, both here as well as IG.

      I won’t jump the gun and say I’m better now, but I think I’m gonna force myself to get better. I think returning to my writing will help me.

      Hope you’re doing better too – you’re right, the battles may be different, but the fight is the same.

      Hugs to you too! ❤

      Like

  2. Sarabjeet Singh September 13, 2016 / 8:45 PM

    I’m not sure if you remember, but you only told me once that I’ll figure it out myself. I tried and I already did what you told you’re doing “not attending phone calls and on and on the list goes” and I couldn’t figure out anything.

    Well, only thing that gave me comfort was talking to those 2-3 people whom I’m comfortable talking to while lying on a couch for hours. Sometimes I won’t even talk and just sit near them. I understand it’s just momentarily comfort scenario which goes off as soon as they leave, but that’s somehow my only hope of not giving up on things.

    I’m really sorry to hear that this is going on with you but for a change, try talking to someone. if you need, I’ll be there for you, maybe not with the level of maturity with which you guided me but I can be there.

    Take care. Hugs.

    Like

  3. Shailaja V September 18, 2016 / 11:23 PM

    Pretty late in seeing this and I’ve missed you so much. I am always here to listen, you know that. I hope this passes for you . I’m rooting for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva January 11, 2017 / 3:33 PM

      I’ve missed you too. I hope it passes too, and soon, but if it doesn’t, then I’ve decided to force myself to be better, one way or another! Hugs!

      Like

  4. Vinitha October 29, 2016 / 4:48 AM

    I was thinking that it’s been so long since I read you. But then I thought that’s because I had given up on reading, writing and blogging. I hope that writing this post helped you a bit. I was going through a similar phase and after a break of 8 months I feel good somehow. I don’t know what else to say other than take your time and stay away from everything you need to until you need to. And then when you are ready we will be here, everything will be here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva January 11, 2017 / 3:35 PM

      A cleanse is always good. I hope my break helps me the way yours helped you.
      Thank you so much for your kind words! Means a lot to me 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

