Hopeless Romantic: Part 1 – Tokens

sreesha-divakaran-petrichor-clouds

There was a time when I thought of myself as a hopeless romantic. Even as I wrote endless reports on Shakespeare’s villains for school or wrote about gruesomely severed heads to amuse myself, my secret ambition was to write a love story of epic proportions. And when no one was looking, I would let the facade crumble and write poems of love (which sound horribly cheesy now) on the lines of “I haven’t found you yet.”

All of this was before I became the hopeless cynic that I am now.

One of the reasons why I was a hopeless romantic was, I think, because unlike everyone else I knew, I was single (is single too heavy a word to be assigned to teenagers?), and the proverbial grass beckoned me like the glint of green glass. My grandmother and her sister firmly believed I was destined to die an old maid, and my academic achievements were therefore null and void. We are, sadly, after all, raised to believe that if you do not find a Prince Charming for a companion, you’re worthless. It took a lot of years for me to come out of that demeaning mindset, but the day they uttered that “prophecy”, I think a part of me believed all of life was meaningless, and everyone I knew had something that I did not. But I digress.

One day, while helping a friend choose a birthday present for another friend, I found myself looking at a greeting card. A simple one, no fancy fonts or glittery picture. All it said was “For you”. It appealed to the romantic in me, and I thought if there was a chance in hell that I wouldn’t die an old maid, then this would be something to gift whoever it was I hadn’t found yet. I bought the card, and kept it hidden in a notebook.

That was the first in a series of “tokens” I bought. My fairy tale idea of love was cemented with each token I bought, fed and watered by all the notions pop culture offered. More song lyrics, more secret poetry followed. All of it hidden in the same notebook with the greeting cards, quotes and sometimes, even old bits of gift wrapping paper, if they happened to have hearts on them.

That picture of me isn’t something I can relate to today, over a decade later. A few years ago, I was back home, in my old room, and decided to throw all the tokens away. I just decided it wasn’t me, and all those bits had no place in my life. Interestingly, I could not find the notebook. Maybe somebody found it, had a hearty laugh and threw it out. I can’t say.

Or maybe, it will turn up years later, when I’m older, to remind me who I used to be – full of wide-eyed innocence and dreams of impractical puppy love.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hopeless Romantic: Part 1 – Tokens

  1. Sid Balachandran June 22, 2016 / 11:16 AM

    Maybe the notebook with the card will reappear when you least expect it 🙂
    Interesting side to the ‘devil herself’ 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva July 4, 2016 / 11:28 PM

      The devil has many sides, love! I’m sure you know 😉
      I hope it doesn’t turn up anywhere ever again – oh the horror! oh, the embarrassment!

      Like

  2. Lata Sunil June 23, 2016 / 8:46 PM

    That was so cute. So, you are a closet romantic then, if such a term exists. But who ever took the notebook? Interesting start to a story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva July 4, 2016 / 11:29 PM

      Closet romantic, heehee, yes probably that is what I am 😀
      Who knows. Maybe Mum threw it out. I never asked her though (of course)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Writer June 28, 2016 / 11:25 AM

    I remember imagining endless scenarios of being whisked off of my feet by a knight in shining armor. But I slowly realized that when he does come, at the most, he is probably going to make a very poor joke and laugh at it himself.
    I think it is the age also, those teenage years, where you just can’t help being a hopeless romantic. Slowly reality weeds it out.
    Nice to know this part of you. Part 1 has got me so excited because there will be part 2, part 3…part infinity 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva July 4, 2016 / 11:30 PM

      Yeah, teenagers are programmed to think that way. Listening to music does not help!
      There will be a part 2, but I’m hoping it will be less me-centric. It will be more about romance in general. I haven’t gotten it all down on paper yet. As for part infinity… hehehehe, don’t know, can’t say 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

