Dear Heart, Why Did You?

 

petrichor-and-clouds-sreesha-divakaran
Picture Credit

Dear Heart, why did you love him?

Because all you said is,

Look at me,

And he replied with a kiss on your lips.

Dear Heart, why did that shake you?

But my dear, it did not,

Nor did I skip a beat;

What it did was make the universe crack and stop.

Dear Heart, tell me more, remind me again,

Why, my dear, how could I,

Love like that doesn’t happen twice,

All I have are his eyes and a collection of your smiles

Dear Heart, why do you hurt me so?

My dear, in desperation, I found nothing but to leave,

For you, I will preserve,

Clasped hands in a car and an apology.

And dear heart, why did you tell me to let go?

That, my dear, is what I never learned.

 

7 thoughts on “Dear Heart, Why Did You?

  1. Lata Sunil June 23, 2016 / 8:49 PM

    So beautiful Sreesha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

