The Train To Nowhere

sreesha-divakaran-petrichor-clouds-railroad
Image Source: http://designtrends.com

Rumbling loud, those wheels on steel;

Hurtling down, like the sun on me

Burns, sears into the tissues

Hidden; it vibrates within my shoes.

 

Save me, hurtling train, take me home.

The train to nowhere, open your doors.

Let’s seek faraway lands together,

Take me away, away, farther and farther.

 

Grows the sun’s noise in my head

Oh, take this off, this strait jacket

I am not mad; why don’t you hear me scream?

Have you all been deafened by the sun’s heat?

 

The rumble comes closer, oh, so near,

Give me a place for my head, you hear?

The wheels are rolling, the sun beats down,

No matter. The steel is cool; I’m home now.

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Train To Nowhere

  1. Bhavya April 10, 2016 / 6:48 PM

    I love train journeys. And this is a beautifully written poem. But why death 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva April 19, 2016 / 10:11 AM

      Thank you, Bhavya.
      Well, sometimes, death is an escape. It’s also a journey.

      Like

  2. Nibha April 11, 2016 / 5:18 PM

    I always loved train journeys than the air travel! Beautiful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Soumya Prasad April 12, 2016 / 12:35 PM

    This sure is one scary way to die. We can add this to Ross’s list! 😛

    I loved the play of words, The building melancholy and discomfort finally to a feeling of nothingness. Lovely work, Siri! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva April 19, 2016 / 10:12 AM

      Haha, yes, we can!

      Glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

