The Valley Of Cloves

petrichor-and-clouds-sreesha-divakaran
Image Source

The tapping of the soles of my brown shoes

Dies a dull death as the ground meets them

Charred, charred the ground beneath moves

Pushing me ahead, promising me salvation ahead.

 

All through the valley, scattered wide

The stench assaults my nostrils, of burning flesh

From the bodies of a once-haughty tribe,

They were trapped, the tribe clasped, it engulfed.

 

Brought along the burning on its back

A smell so cloying, like an incubus’ call

Almost, I turned around, to fall into its trap

Determination against addictions, almost unheard of.

 

The cloves beckoned me, for the bodies still

Carried them burning in their fried mouths,

Fried lungs that stopped breathing

Much before their time was out.

 

And yet I walked on, paying no attention

To skin that peeled off like burnt paper

Or is it paper that flakes off like burnt skin?

Would He even recognize us, the Maker?

 

Walked on till the mouth of the valley

There was no promised salvation, only an emptiness

All I knew had given in to the cloves’ delicious fury

With the world gone, I was left to be taken by loneliness.

 

And I heard the cloying beckoning me again

Come back to the valley

We have cloves here

We have what you want here.

 

8 thoughts on “The Valley Of Cloves

  1. Beloo Mehra March 3, 2016 / 12:41 PM

    Something so hauntingly and mysteriously beautiful about this. It evokes a certain sadness. And yet also gives a hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Indywrites March 4, 2016 / 2:50 PM

    Such deep meaning and thought. Reminded me of Hotel California song. it has a similar theme. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 7, 2016 / 5:11 PM

      You know, now that you mention it, it could have a certain connection. Hotel California is eerie and beautiful, and my poem is about smoking; the last line of the song can sum up the story of those mentioned in my poem who can’t kick the habit 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

