YOLOs, FOMOs, and MOMOs

“Has it ever occurred to you that life is an excruciatingly long wait for death.”

-Not A Famous Person

‘Twas I who said those words. Ok, tweeted. It is a universally acknowledged fact that we hate to wait. Combine that fact with what I have written above and what you have is a sinister idea – well, suicidal, but please do not try anything stupid at home, because I don’t want this blog post to be held responsible.

Also, you’re all already performing various acts of varying levels of stupidity all around me.

I know a lot of people blame social media for a whole lot of things, and rightfully too. I have one major grievance against it and that is – inspirational quotes. Especially of the YOLO variety. Oh wait, apparently YOLO is now outdated, because evolution somehow started working in reverse or something and all of us now have the attention span of a fish. I have no idea about the real attention span of fish, that’s just an expression but I am guessing that also could be a possible acronym which completely encapsulates the idea of short attention span – Fuck It, Shithead (FISH) ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

Oh, digressing. Blame the FISH attitude. So, YOLO is now outdated, and acronym of the year 2014 (two years ago, so probably wayyyy outdated) was FOMO – fear of missing out. The idea of fomo (I don’t feel like capitalizing it, meh) is that people want to do too much, too soon, because they are all convinced they’re gonna die tomorrow or in the next hour and are terrified they wouldn’t have DJ’d at a pub before then. Or grown potatoes on Mars.

Ugh, how morbid.

I sometimes binge-read wikipedia late at night, as I am sure you all do (no? okay) and last night for reasons beyond the ideas and constraints of logic, I started reading about Drake, the rapper. Apparently he is credited with popularizing “YOLO.” He must be feeling real foolish now. Also, I noticed, he is my age, so I guess that’s ok – ’86-borns are used to feeling foolish from time to time. Then I woke up this morning, and Facebook slaps my face with this:

Capture

Then I just lost it. I wanted to wail, please stop putting so much pressure on me to enjoy my life! I never even thought about Feb 29th before this as anything other than just another day – an attitude I reserve for every day, including NYE, because I, boring as it sounds, don’t wanna over-drink and die of alcohol poisoning or being bonked on the head by over-enthusiastic party-goers.

What are we so afraid of? Of death? Because sounds like we’re more afraid of life. Life, as idyllically and unhurriedly as it comes – we seem terrified of it. We are, propelled by those nonsensical quotes (admit it – it’s all it is!), doing so much that our heart isn’t in any of it. Everybody I know is travelling like a maniac, playing four musical instruments, getting tattoos they don’t like, dating a new person each day, screaming off rooftops, enjoying NONE of it. Why? Because they’re too afraid of not enjoying life while it lasts. Oh, the irony.

I agree, life is short. I mean, I’ve been doing it for 29 years, but yeah, I’d probably find it short when I’m on my deathbed, and I still find the manuscript of my novel unfinished on my desk (I’m not fooling anyone, I started off in 2012, it’s been bloody 4 years, that’s not getting written, LOL). But do you really have to rush through life? In your chaotic frenzy to create an unforgettable one, aren’t you just creating an utterly forgettable one, one that even you can’t remember, thanks to the fish?

Ask yourself, what do you really want. Tell me it isn’t just a blanket and more hours of sleep.

And some momos (cos it’s there in the title, and I had to put them somewhere in the post. Also they’re tasty)

18 thoughts on “YOLOs, FOMOs, and MOMOs

  1. kalaravi16 March 1, 2016 / 3:46 PM

    What a quote huh?! Surprisingly I agree with it! We are just existing, passing time, to a common end! Morbid! Let me think what do I want…..hmm mostly to be left alone, because that is the only thing in life I can’t seem to get! And duh to 29th Feb! BTW this was enlightening…wasnt aware abt YOLO or FOMO….only knew MOMO!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sreesha Diva March 2, 2016 / 10:06 AM

      Trust me, all everyone wants is to be left alone! 😉

      Oh you didn’t know? You lucky girl!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rajlakshmi March 1, 2016 / 5:38 PM

    //Because sounds like we’re more afraid of life// there you have said it!!
    There’s seriously too much of motivational quotes and note-to-selfs going around. On one hand they tell us to stop and smell the roses or lilies or whatever that smells good … on the other they ask us to hike and dance and be a Banjaran. 😛 It’s a confusing time for people like me.
    I had no idea what FOMO was until I read your post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 2, 2016 / 10:08 AM

      I would any day slow down and smell the roses – actually plumerias for me, I prefer them over roses 😀 At least that way I would remember the smell, rather than feeling some random passing blur
      Banjaran bahahahhahahahahhahahah XD I can’t stop laughing.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Shailaja V March 1, 2016 / 10:14 PM

    I will take momos any day and any season. As for the inspirational quotes, bah humbug. I find myself rolling my eyes and looking away unless I am writing them. Because then they are pure gold, of course 😛

    Yeah life is short and life can suck. But I am going to just enjoy the moment. No YOLO for me because duh, who doesn’t know that? I am going to be happy and foolish and loving and angry and everything I can be because it’s today and not February 29th or whatever. Just be. Ah that’s tough for most people. You better start working on that novel because…wait for it… YOLO 😛 *runs away*

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sreesha Diva March 2, 2016 / 10:28 AM

      Of course, of course 😛

      Happy, foolish, loving and angry and most importantly: not in a rush. I don’t understand why people wanna do so much so soon. Just. CHILL!

      Hahaha, that novel will be scrapped anyway. Maybe something else. Someday. Maybe.

      Like

  4. Beat About The Book March 2, 2016 / 10:34 PM

    No matter what who says I don’t think anything can hurry me up – just too lazy I suppose. Unless I really want to do something which is never anything as drastic (or painful) as getting a tattoo but something silly like dumping the gym and going out for breakfast. It IS a morbid thought – like you said – almost like doing things only because you expect to die right away. Weird! But do finish up that novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 7, 2016 / 5:12 PM

      Yeah, terrifying what a hurry people are in!
      I know, something silly and spontaneous is fine – no matter how small, you tend to remember it. More than all the drastic things that you did for the heck of it!

      Like

  5. CM March 4, 2016 / 8:40 PM

    Trust Facebook to point out how unexciting our lives are till it intervenes. Thankgoodness I am not on it anymore to get a reminder to do the happy dance about life in general every morning.
    But yes , I agree with you. We are always in a rush . But instead of YOLO , I blame FOMO for that. MOMOs infact Ive discovered recently make the mad mad rush worthwhile .
    You post is by far the most interesting take on 29th so far that Ive come across , if nothing else you have got to give credit to the bonus day to inspire a fun post right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 7, 2016 / 5:15 PM

      Yes, I think that’s why I gave up on FB too – I rarely log in these days.
      FOMO is the worst – think about it, why are people so terrified of missing out on things they wouldn’t care about otherwise? More than ever, people are quitting their jobs and travelling. Travelling is great, but those who are doing it for the mere title of “risk taker” or whatever, I don’t know, not something I can agree with!
      Glad you liked the post! Keep visiting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Srivi March 15, 2016 / 11:30 PM

    Couldn’t stop myself from tweeting the quote!! Actually come to think of it, its so true 🙂

    I guess FOMO is more popular now because of Facebook. Looking at your friend’s post or probably someone you know post,we start thinking, oh we need to do this as well etc etc.. It becomes a never ending list and quite depressing at times thinking why I haven’t done anything yet!

    Enjoyed reading it including the MOMO part 😀

    And please finish the novel girl. I am sure it will be great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 21, 2016 / 9:37 AM

      Absolutely, the bucket list piles up and the sad part is: that bucket list isn’t even you! It’s just the influence of what your friends are doing!

      Oh, I don’t know. I am just not that confident about it. Someday I might go back to it. I do want to write a novel, yes, but the present scenario is a little disheartening.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. shanayatales March 17, 2016 / 8:17 PM

    Hehehe..yeah FOMO has replaced YOLO, but I would vote for MOMOs over those two any day – they represent the essence of life (good food and joy!) better than the other two, essentially empty words/phrases.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 21, 2016 / 9:38 AM

      I know! And it is such a comforting sort of food. Yay for Momos! ❤

      Like

  8. Soumya Prasad March 31, 2016 / 1:23 PM

    You said it sistah! Life is what we’re afraid of, not death!

    Some sometimes tell me “YOLO” I reply, “Full form kya hai bolo”! 😛 Well, just for kicks.

    We’ll have a momo party someday. Soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva March 31, 2016 / 10:26 PM

      The Yolo/fomo brigade is mental. Escapists of the cowardly kind!

      Momos are like the cibarious* equivalent of a cozy blanket, no?

      *recently learnt this word; will be using it a lot for a while 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

