The Book Series For Which I Took A Break… From Everything

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out during my final semester of engineering. Kinda weirdly fitting, you might say. But the truth is, I was not a Potterhead then. I was more like a Potterear or a Pottereye, whose reading list had other books and had always oddly dismissed the Harry Potter series (my apologies to all, but please keep reading). I listened to and watched the crazed Potterheads clawing their way to the bookshops or ordering the final book and in general, behaving like the disastrously deranged. I liked the series, but I had until then read about two books (not in order – I read the 3rd one then the 6th one and a bit of the 4th one), so I watched with amusement. But after the final book was read, and silence descended upon the muggle world, I decided to give it a go. I read all seven books in one sitting – I rarely got up from my seat for several days, at the end of which my transformation to Potterhead was complete. It was a strange feeling – when at once so much awesome falls on you that you don’t know what to do once you’re done.

I felt empty, vacant and drained of all emotion after finishing the books. I still lived in a world where there was magic and all things glorious. Being a misanthrope of sorts, the muggles looked even more annoying to me than they had before.

To get over all that emptiness, I rushed into the arms of another book. The hapless book that came into my hands was none other than the American classic To Kill A Mockingbird. It may have been a great book. Or not. Truth is, I don’t remember a word of it. I read it while still book-hungover, and a book without Hogwarts just seemed pointless. Rebound is always a terrible idea.

You see, reading books is a lot like being in a relationship. Without extending this analogy further, I’ll just say I was a serial bookagamist for most part of my life. All that was before though. Once I realized, I was behind on my reading, I began to read like a crazy person – picking up two and three books at the same time – reading all – absorbing the worlds of none.

See now, that’s what cheating does to you. Like any cheater, I am gonna make excuses and say the book just happened to be there when I was or the cover was seductive or I was drunk or I am gonna blame it on my Zodiac sign.

Then I ordered this box set – yet another 7 book series. I knew with my new box set, cheating would be a no-no. Despite the fact that this series urged me to

“Go then. There are other worlds than these.”

I decided not to. I did not want to. I wanted to live in this world, much like I had lived in another seven-book wonder back in 2008. This strange world where the world had moved on, time was a face on water and the last gunslingers walked the earth.

Yes, I read The Dark Tower series. Stephen King’s magnum opus, his most ambitious work, grand enough to tower over The Lord Of The Rings (or so he states was his aim).

I did not start out by abandoning everything. But the more I read, the more involved I got, and the less aware I became of the real world. There were other books calling out to me, from my Kindle, from my bookshelf and everywhere else; the cheater in me was tempted, very, very tempted. But I did not give in. I exiled myself into Roland’s world, that I bid goodbye to my blogs (I wrote just one post that I absolutely had to – it was for a cause). I bid goodbye to micropoetry games on Twitter, I stopped reading other blogs (may I mention here that a lot of hate-filled blogs have suddenly cropped up and there’s just so much filth frothing around in the blogging world?), I even muted most of my WhatsApp groups. I decided against participating in TOI Write India’s short story competition for the month because, though I had a story in mind, I did not want to come out of Roland’s world long enough to get into the world of my story. I stopped listening to music. The man of the house dragged me to watch The Martian, a great movie which I would have enjoyed under normal circumstances, but during this time, all I did was stare at my watch every few minutes. I sort of split my mind’s focus into two, such that one part of it stayed firmly in Roland’s world (let’s call it the ROM) and the other focused on the movie, fleetingly enough to make me forget it as soon as I stepped out of the cinema hall (let’s call this the RAM).

In short, I didn’t give a shit if there were other worlds than these.

This post is not going to be a review (I hope you’re not regretting reading this far). Like I mentioned before, I need to clear my head a little and stop nitpicking and making notes. I have also mentioned before that I have mixed feelings about King’s writing. While his prose may sound too straightforward to hardcore litterateurs (I personally have no problems with it, though I know some people who do), you have to admit whatever he writes, it’s gripping, to say the least!. That takes skill. I’ve read a lot of fantasy/horror/scifi over the years but only few have been captivating enough. Sure, there were some predictable bits, and some parts that were King-I-Will-Kill-You-If-You-Don’t-Speed-Up-A-Bit slow, but I am in such a benevolent mood that I can only say this series was good (sorry about the struck out words; I have a problem, I am working on it). The Dark Tower should be more popular than it is; I don’t get why it isn’t as popular as any of the other gazzillion series out there. King’s fertile imagination has created worlds, worlds within worlds, portals between worlds, wizards, bears, robots and whatnot. I feel like greeting everyone I meet as “sai.” It is not breathtakingly marvellous oohlala, but it is good, the amount of imagination that has gone into it is commendable.

This post is to let everyone know that I have returned from my self-imposed exile. It took me this long because I did not have the luxury of being jobless as I was in 2008 – I am, unfortunately, for all intents and purposes, considered an adult now, and that, along with a myriad of shit, comes with limited reading time. I don’t know which poor book will bear the brunt of being my rebound this time, but I cannot begin to get back into the game. There are so many books waiting, after all, and I am quite the Barney Stinson of the world of reading! Am I book-hungover? Not so much, really.

PS: “Go then. There are other worlds than these.” is a quote from the first book. It still breaks my heart when I think of the scene in which it was spoken.

PPS: The working title for this post was “How books are like relationships” I edited a whole lot out of it.

PPPS: You know what, if you were following me on Instagram, you would have already known from the title of this post which series I was referring to and would not have needed to read the post at all. Gotcha, sucker! Now go follow me on Instagram.

PPPPS: I am working on a new blog – who wants to guess what it’s about!

PPPPPS: I am BACK, BLOGOSPHERE!

43 thoughts on “The Book Series For Which I Took A Break… From Everything

  1. Lata Sunil October 26, 2015 / 10:59 AM

    Thats a good idea to have a blog break and read some great books. I bought the Book Thief and Love in the Time of Cholera. They are tempting me evey moment I am working.

    I have not read Stephen King for the simple reason that he creeps me out. Maybe, someday I will read. I have his books on my Kindle, just waiting..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 26, 2015 / 11:17 AM

      The funny thing was, the blog break wasn’t voluntary or planned. I just… fell into the series!
      The Book Thief is a book I recommend to everyone I meet. And by recommend I mean, I shout “READ, DAMMIT! READ IT NOW” 😛
      Love in the Time of Cholera has been on my TBR list for a long time. If it’s anything like One Hundred Years Of Solitude, I am sure it will be superb too! (although, Marquez let me down with Memories of Melancholy Whores)

      Stephen King isn’t a must-read, but he is interesting, to say the least. It isn’t his writing or prose that’s worth writing home about, but the plots themselves – he has an imagination that’s just… how do I put it without sounding worshipful… okay – the man has more bizarre and wonderful ideas than most writers! And as I’ve mentioned once before (on Twitter :D) – his intelligence is just… wow!
      Maybe I like him because I write horror stories myself, but I would still say, give him a go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Lata Sunil October 26, 2015 / 11:20 AM

      I started on Love in the times… I want to savour The Book Thief, nicely and slowly. During Diwali holidays, maybe.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 26, 2015 / 11:35 AM

      Ahh, yes, it is one of those books that you savour. Simply lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Shailaja/ The Moving Quill October 26, 2015 / 11:29 AM

    Welcome back and I think that’s one of the best reasons ever to stop blogging 🙂 GO, dear reader. Go and read, devour and love it all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beat About The Book October 26, 2015 / 11:43 AM

    That good huh? Coming from a potterhead that’s high recommendation. I’m not too fond of King since horror is not really my thing. The only book I did enjoy was ‘On Writing’ and that I totally loved. Will give this series a shot. If it can even be compared to Harry Potter I need to read it.
    PS:Welcome back.
    PPS: Do give ‘To kill a mockingbird’ another chance please.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 26, 2015 / 11:51 AM

      This one isn’t really “horror” per se. It’s more like, sci-fi/fantasy. Sure, there are some gore-filled scenes, but I guess we can all take it.
      Harry Potter is certainly better, but I do feel as a series, The Dark Tower is underrated and often overlooked.
      I’m yet to read On Writing. I’ve read excerpts, and yes, from what I’ve read, it sounds really good.
      Thank you!! 🙂
      Hmmm, I should, huh? I guess I read it too soon after HP and it seemed bland in comparison. I’ll give it another go 🙂

      Like

  4. Suzy Que October 26, 2015 / 2:17 PM

    Welcome back. I loved the HP series. They were a nice distraction from my usual reading list. Happy blogging

    Liked by 1 person

  5. akaushiva October 26, 2015 / 3:50 PM

    What better reason for a break! Welcome back! 🙂 and I gues your new blog will be on books? I haven’t read Stephen King yet but it’s on my TBR list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 26, 2015 / 4:17 PM

      Hey Aditi! Thank you 🙂
      Yeah, do read him, he’s great.

      I already have a book blog. This one is entirely different (and thank you – you’re the only one who ventured a guess! :D)

      Like

  6. Roshan Radhakrishnan October 26, 2015 / 6:55 PM

    yay… good to see your name back on my blogroll with a new post 😀
    I actually used to get very annoyed as a kid while reading S kING because he took so long to reach a point. Now as I grow up, I look back and actually appreciate his skill… he could weave a tale and really get you immersed inside that world of Salem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 27, 2015 / 9:06 AM

      Yeah, he sometimes drones on, and even goes off tangent, but even as he tests your patience, you know that if you skip something, the story will cease to make sense.
      The Father from Salem’s Lot makes an appearance in Dark Tower – 5. A sort of continuation of his story that ended in Salem’s Lot.

      Like

  7. shanayatales October 26, 2015 / 10:33 PM

    1. Welcome back. 🙂
    2. This is one of the best reasons to take a break – planned or otherwise. I am so happy for you, and slightly jealous too. 😛
    3. Rebound is a BAD idea. Don’t do it. Just don’t. Resist the temptation, dear friend.

    P.S. I have never read King, mainly because horror is not my genre; I am easily scared.
    However, I have read his memoir – ‘On writing’, which was pretty amazing, and made me want to give his books a shot, but then I read some blurbs and they were REALLY creepy, so I made my peace with just the one book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 27, 2015 / 9:09 AM

      1) Thank you 🙂 🙂
      2) Hahaha, don’t be!
      Sometimes books are good enough to not wanna escape from.
      3) Yeah, but I have to start sometime. Actually already have. But not so hungover as last time, so I guess I can handle myself 😀

      Surprisingly, the works of his that I’ve read have not scared me. Maybe I need to read The Shining or Cujo, to get thoroughly scared. 😀

      Like

  8. Rajlakshmi October 27, 2015 / 8:02 AM

    Woaaa that’s a lot of reading you have done. I have tried cheating while reading but it never works. Although if a book is as creative and enchanting as HP I don’t think anyone will feel like cheating on it 🙂 glad to see you back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 27, 2015 / 9:10 AM

      Thank you Rajlakshmi 😀
      Yeah, it’s not as good as HP, as I was telling Tulika, but certainly better than (much, much better than) several popular book series.

      Like

  9. Vinitha October 27, 2015 / 1:36 PM

    Now that’s commitment! Well done, Sreesha and Welcome back. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Arpitha (@Me_er_) October 28, 2015 / 7:57 AM

    Yayy!! You finished it :). Looking forward to a review. I love Stephen King so I might have hyped up the series a bit. 🙂 It is really a page turner right ? I could just not stop reading. This is what I loved about this series and I also love series in general.
    Have you read Game of Thrones ? I hope you give it a try.
    So this other blog is going to be either only stories or poems. Am I right ? My bet is on stories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 28, 2015 / 10:13 AM

      I don’t think I’m gonna review this one. Like I mentioned in the previous post (linked) I wanna cleanse some of the cruel critic out of me. 😛
      I love sai King too, more for the plots (and the sheer number he’s come up with!) than for the writing though – cos his plots (at least what I have read) always implode on themselves. He builds up a great premise that doesn’t get the ending it deserves, as I mentioned in my Rose Madder review (also linked).
      Oh, I have given a try to ASOFAI. The first one at least – I read till Bran Stark wakes up and names his direwolf Summer. Then I gave up. I lent the book to a friend, who kept it for a year and a half and returned it saying he could not go beyond four chapters (or four pages, I don’t remember which)! Personally, I don’t think much about ASOFAI – it’s popular only because of the TV series, which I think is executed well. In fact, if you read the goodreads reviews for it from before the series aired, you’ll find a lot of diss. People wouldn’t have heard of it if it weren’t for the show, which is why books like Harry Potter and Dark Tower are better – both popular and surviving well before and without movies/TV shows respectively.

      Like

    • Sreesha Diva October 28, 2015 / 10:14 AM

      Ooh, missed replying to the second bit – nah, stories and poems will continue to reside here. It’s too much of a pain to take everything from here and place it elsewhere. This is a completely different side of me 😀
      Care to try another guess?

      Like

  11. Arpitha (@Me_er_) October 29, 2015 / 8:18 AM

    ASOIAF is very gripping. I started reading it before the TV series came out. True about Harry Potter and Dark Tower series though. Let me know if you find out anything similar.

    Is it a fashion or DIY blog ? Or technical maybe ? Now you have got me really curious 😀
    Political ? Magazine ?? OMG!! Now I really want to know. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva October 29, 2015 / 1:02 PM

      The trouble is, most book series target kids or young adults, unlike DT or GoT. The only ones being written for an older group are, well, vampire erotica :\ Erotica nowadays isn’t the poetic beauty it used to be, and vampire glitter needn’t be everywhere. So standalone books are much better (though I read The Hunger Games when I was not a YA, and still found it interesting :P)

      Teehee, fashion is *somewhat* close. But think more minute. It’s not a makeup blog, anyway. I don’t know when I’ll make it go live though. Only 5 posts done.

      Like

  12. teny November 5, 2015 / 7:55 PM

    Welcome back! 🙂
    I guess, a travel blog coming up? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva November 9, 2015 / 12:51 PM

      Oh, I wish, but 1) I don’t travel as much as I’d like to 2) So much work to take everything from TripAdvisor and put it here. But keep guessing 😛 3 more posts before revealing it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • teny November 9, 2015 / 1:24 PM

      So that means 3 + 3 which would be six posts after this post? Is there a way to calculate the remaining time by days? 😀 😛
      I am going to guess that it is going to have a very long story divided into blog posts 😀

      Like

    • Sreesha Diva November 9, 2015 / 1:49 PM

      Nah, just 3 more posts will bring the total to 10, then I can release it to the world.

      😀 Nope, that would be a book. I am not gonna blog a book, although that practice seems to be popular these days.

      Liked by 1 person

    • teny November 9, 2015 / 2:47 PM

      Okay 😀 So how many times can one person guess? There is a limit? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva November 9, 2015 / 2:48 PM

      Of course not 😛 They can stop when they reach the closest category 😀 😀 😀 Or until they get annoyed, which generally happens after three incorrect guesses in humans.

      Liked by 1 person

    • teny November 9, 2015 / 2:55 PM

      Okay, it is about your memories, going right back to Kerala and later to the new place where you started working.
      That makes it three, but I am not annoyed 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva November 9, 2015 / 2:59 PM

      Haha, I said “humans.” Doesn’t apply to vampires. Which is great. Naww, to me going back does not mean Kerala. That’s just where I did my engineering, and that debacle has already been covered on this blog 😀
      Keep going

      Liked by 1 person

    • teny November 9, 2015 / 3:18 PM

      So it is okay with humanoids 😀
      I shall give a detailed thought procedure related to this 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Mohammad Farooq November 5, 2015 / 10:45 PM

    Interesting. I push myself to read books and this craziness of yours (sorry for calling it that :P) inspires me to read one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

