Impulsiveness Revisited! [#FridayLessons]

Petrichor and Clouds is now a household name. If you’re surprised by this fact, please become a part of a new household. Warning though, this post is going to be as rambly as possible. It’s not a rant. Call it, a musing of sorts. Or just jump to the bulleted lessons at the bottom. Whatever suits you.

Image: gifrific.com
Image: gifrific.com

The first post on my blog was about how I am an impulsive maniac and how I look down upon those who mathematically plan every cunning move they make while on this planet. Please don’t read that post, cos it’s terrible [and can tarnish the good household name that this blog has]. When I started writing, I did not have a loyal readership – just that one classmate, that one disgruntled dude who would disagree with everything I wrote, and a bunch of angry mallu boys whom I didn’t even know [see, trolls existed even back in the 2008s (“2008s”? Moving on…)]. There was no Indiblogger or any of those platforms. By the time I discovered them (late 2013), I had some decent stats, despite having no followers [because, remember, trolls are your friends too]. From there, it was a pretty happy growth. Though my posts never went what-happened-next-will-blow-your-mind kinda viral, life was still good.

Then I thought about moving to WordPress. You know, here’s the thing, thinking about doing something, and actually pondering over it, putting some real thought into it and thoroughly contemplating it are very different things. No, I am not just spouting off a thesaurus. Thing is, I considered moving to WordPress, but I did not know why. I did not think of the technicalities, I did not think in-depth. I just thought “Meh, maybe WordPress. Maybe strawberry ice cream from Baskin Robbins.” So while I thought about it for a long time, I did not “think” about it.

Then I got my AdSense approved finally and bam! Moved to WordPress.

Makes no sense? Yeah. That’s how impulsive I am.

Now, I’ve often stated that stats don’t make up a blog, that they’re not important yada yada yada. But you know, it’s always the rich guy who says that money isn’t everything. After losing all my views is when I realized, “OK, umm, now I gotta build seven and a half years’ worth of page views!” That’s probably when I realized that I am still as impulsive as I was that cold day in November 1986 [I was born 4 days late. It was not like I had a plan, I didn’t think I’ll stay in mommy’s womb and fatten up a bit. When the docs came knocking, I just said, “Nah, not today. I am sleeping in. Another day, dah-lings. Don’t call me, I’ll call you. Tah-tah *flying kisses*”]

giphy

Digressing, sorry!

Ergo, the lessons learned are as below:

  • I was born impulsive and crazy. Docs say there is no cure.
  • I change my mind a lot. Docs say there is no cure.
  • Moving suddenly from one blogging platform to another will cause you to lose pageviews. Docs don’t give a shit about this.
  • Page views do matter, though they may just be an ego-balm. Corollary: Before you say page views don’t matter, make sure you have enough to spout bullshit like that [as I did, a few weeks ago. See bullet point # 2].
  • Blogger is easy, and WordPress is classy. I am no expert on either. But I will say this – WordPress is a heartbreaker. Blogger will tell you stuff like, “You had 832 pageviews today! You are the queen of the world” It will not mention that 830 of them were by bots. On the other hand, WordPress gets real mean. “You had 7 pageviews today, but only 2 were real and they looked at your post for, like, 0.000063 seconds.” How sweet of you, WordPress. Come, share my ice cream. Or just eat all of it, whatever.
  • That’s all I learned, how much more can I learn in a week! Why are you still reading? Share already, I am a household name, y’all!
19 thoughts on “Impulsiveness Revisited! [#FridayLessons]

  1. Shailaja/ The Moving Quill September 4, 2015 / 6:00 AM

    Love the honesty and self deprecating humour in this. I think that’s also one reason I still have my Blogger space in addition to my WordPress space. Apart from the pain of moving it all, I like the difference in experience and also the fact that one keeps me grounded while the other boosts my ego, somewhat 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 4, 2015 / 9:22 AM

      I know, I didn’t delete my blog on Blogger, it’s still there, but I’m not letting myself look at the numbers there. Or for a while, here either. *Stay strong, Sree, stay strong!*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. CookieCrumbs Inc. September 4, 2015 / 11:25 AM

    HAHAHAHAHAHA.. I love this post. “share my icecream WordPress, or eat it all..” 😀

    And point number 4, you said it sistah! I gave up 6 lakh page views for 30k odd :/ AND I MISS MY PAGEVIEWS 😥 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 4, 2015 / 11:48 AM

      6 lakh *gulps* Thanks, now I don’t feel so bad! 😛
      I know right, I miss them too. I just.. don’t look at them *sighs dramatically*. I may just write a sad love poem.

      Like

  3. Keirthana September 4, 2015 / 3:58 PM

    Ha ha ha, I loved this roast. You know what? I can beat you at this game 🙂 I have moved my blog thrice giving up whatever number of views I had. I don’t want to blab that page views are not important but I never looked at them till now. Maybe time to do that? Hmm.. I guess I am wired wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 4, 2015 / 4:07 PM

      Yeah, which is why I always get confused about what your URL is! Someone even asked me the other day for your blog URL.
      You never looked at your page views? You are STRONG!

      Like

  4. Alok Singhal September 4, 2015 / 5:39 PM

    Hahaha, quite a funny journey. I love WordPress and its App is quite pleasing. I guess page views are not important as such but experience on the platform is, because that is what our readers also experience. And, you want them to be regulars!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 5, 2015 / 12:16 PM

      I guess you are the rich guy! 😛
      I know, it has a nice look and feel. I do feel Blogger is simpler though, say, for a beginner.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beaton September 5, 2015 / 11:31 AM

    “maybe WordPress. Maybe strawberry ice cream” ….Hmmmm maybe noone needs a cure for being awesome.
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 5, 2015 / 12:17 PM

      Hey Beaton! Glad to see you here on my blog. Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beaton September 5, 2015 / 12:48 PM

      ^_^

      Like

  6. Eli Ert September 6, 2015 / 4:44 PM

    Oh,I liked the flow in this, a fun read:-) You sure made me curious about wordpress now:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 7, 2015 / 1:06 PM

      Hahha, Blogger might kill me if this post encourages more people to switch 😛
      WP is real classy, though, I must say…

      Like

  7. Destination Infinity September 8, 2015 / 10:50 AM

    Instead of moving to WordPress.com, that too just after getting adsense approval, you could have moved to self-hosted WP no? You can still do it — you just need to get ‘impulsive’ about it on one fine day 😛

    Destination Infinity

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva September 8, 2015 / 10:59 AM

      I know… Waiting for that stroke of impulsiveness! 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

