Someone Else

I walk through life often feeling
As though I might not be from here
As though this is not the era I must belong to
As though I am perhaps someone else,
Trapped in this body like a genie in a bottle
Swung far away into the sea
By a worried wanderer who was afraid
Of who I might be.
I know not yet my true calling;
Lost, I wander aimlessly,
Like a cloud unsure of whether to rain
Or simply be swept with the forceful wind
Where do I belong, I hopelessly ask
Is it just me who feels this way?

This poem is in response to the #HomoAquarius micropoetry prompt below:


//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

21 thoughts on “Someone Else

  1. magiceye May 29, 2015 / 1:42 AM

    It is the eternal search of Man – search for self!

    Like

  2. elly stornebrink May 29, 2015 / 5:35 AM

    You are definitely not alone in feeling this way Sreesha! πŸ™‚ I used to have a roommate who strongly felt she came from another planet and didn't belong here. I'm sure there are others…I hope you find them to give you some solace. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

  3. Keirthana May 29, 2015 / 9:54 AM

    Very well written and profound. Everyone feels this way at some point of time.

    Like

  4. Beloo Mehra May 30, 2015 / 8:55 AM

    Yes, life in a way becomes that search for one's true calling. And each experience in some way or the other brings one closer to discovering it.
    Nicely expressed!

    Like

  5. Nirali Naik May 30, 2015 / 6:35 PM

    I have a soft spot for poetry and this was beautiful πŸ™‚

    Also love the name of the blog! Keep writing πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. theteacerebration June 1, 2015 / 6:23 PM

    I wonder about it rather too much; its like there is no point…
    And I feel very good when reading poems like these πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Salvwi Prasad June 1, 2015 / 9:02 PM

    So true. Many of us would share with you this feeling of wandering aimlessly, at times. But sooner or later you will find the purpose , the reason. Nice poem.
    Cheers
    POETICbug

    Like

  8. Sreesha Divakaran June 2, 2015 / 12:53 PM

    Yeah, it's utterly futile pondering over it, no?
    Thank you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. theteacerebration June 3, 2015 / 11:49 AM

    Yes, the life, the thoughts about it, the people around us, all making no point, and we still wonder πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. elly stornebrink June 14, 2015 / 7:10 AM

    Well, there are most likely others around…just keep sharing and eventually someone will say something, i.e., agree with you! πŸ˜‰ ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

