Welcome To India! Where Everyone Is Discriminated Against!


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

If any of you have been following my blog, you would know how much this desi mem rants about this country. Of course, you could ask what am I doing apart from ranting but I can proudly say I am punctual and I have never jumped a queue in my life (so hardcore! I know, right!) But in case you were wondering what irks me about my beloved (?) country, why don’t you click here!
And if those posts weren’t enough to scare you away, why don’t you read further!

In the post “What Annoys You” I have mentioned that what annoys me most about India (among other things, of course) is racism. I have never written elaborately about this topic. Given the number of people who have written about it, and have accomplished nothing more than a few appreciative words on their respective blogs, I don’t think writing more about it is gonna make any difference. But that’s how cynical my thought process is. The north will always hate the south. The south will always wonder why, but hate north in the process too. The north-east will think everyone hates them (despite being the most wonderful and talented people I’ve met so far). And all Indians are gonna suffer massive inferiority complex for all eternity because they think every blond firang is better than them for the simple reason that they’re, well, “fair-complexioned”.

Discrimination will be a part of your life wherever you go, in some form or the other. Generalization is something that’s so ingrained in our DNA that based on the actions or behavior of one person, we label the community he belongs to. Racism in India is so prevalent and so poisonous that it’s practically a habit we live by. We cannot meet a person and not form opinions about him based solely on his surname. That’s just not possible for us.
(As for me, I judge people on the basis of their taste in music, movies and books 😛 (again – so hardcore, right!))
Let’s put a pin in that. There are other annoying habits that Indians have. I am not gonna write paragraphs about each, cos let’s face it, this is a blog post not a book (yes, I have enough content that can fill a book on this topic). I’ll list them out to you:
2) Queue-jumping
3) Spitting out paan on the road
4) “Chaar log” whose only purpose in life is to “think” about you and your activities
5) The attitude that one’s father owns the road one is driving his car on
6) Littering; and then saying “chhod na, yaar” if someone points out a dustbin to them
7) Making fun of people who do not litter and make use of dustbins (cos good habits are a waste of time according to most Indians)
8) Going crazy for international brands, only to be able to show off the prices of random products at a gathering. And yes, Indians remember the price of everything
9) Relatives who suddenly turn into match-makers when a girl of the family turns 20
10) Making fun of unmarried ladies in the family
11) Hugging people like long lost buddies and then bitching about them the minute their backs are turned
12) Fighting on grounds of politics and political parties
13) Forcing your child to take up college courses according to your wishes. (Also, parents who decide careers of their children)
14) Calling a woman “item”, “maal” and other derogatory terms
15) Expressing shock when a woman is doing better professionally than a man.
16) Watching crappy soaps on TV
17) Not respecting other people’s opinions (cos most people think theirs is the only opinion that matters)
18) Relying on astrologers/jyotish/guruji for everything
19) Not using the words “Please”, “Excuse me” and “Sorry” wherever required. People, these three words go a long way
20) Husbands who still feel the need to assert their dominance over their wives
These are just the things off the top of my head (the even 20 is a shocker!). I’ll keep updating this post whenever I think of something else. And that could well be every half an hour!
Here’s the thing; I never felt Indians respond well to criticism. So, I know a brick is about to hit my window as soon as I click Publish. But just in case a brick isn’t handy, and you’re fuming right now, there’s a comment box below that you can use.
18 thoughts on “Welcome To India! Where Everyone Is Discriminated Against!

  1. Keirthana August 4, 2014 / 11:59 AM

    Hats off to you, you do follow the bit that needs to be done even if there's nothing encouraging about it. I do it but at times, I get fed up because people run over us because we follow the rules and follow good things.

    When I try not to litter and I see 10 people around me doing it and not even acknowledging it (even when confronted), it disheartens me. Maybe I give up too soon or I have less patience. I really don't know what to do.

    Like

  2. blackbeauty August 4, 2014 / 12:42 PM

    you really have a list here.. but sadly thats what we are…. education doesn't help much in this country…

    Like

  3. Anita August 4, 2014 / 2:05 PM

    Very correct.
    Totally agree with each & every word in your post, Sreesha. Thanks for sharing.
    “a brick is about to hit my window as soon as I click Publish” – May God save the honest…

    Great that you have listed all these points. I feel terrible to witness this happening right under or behind our nose…
    Naak kat jaati hai.
    Very shameful.
    High time we take care…

    Like

  4. Datta Ghosh August 5, 2014 / 8:21 AM

    A great post, I agree with the twenty points, i am always the center of joke for using a dustbin

    Like

  5. fuchsiaoutbursts August 5, 2014 / 8:56 AM

    Racism is a very ugly truth of our country and I couldn't agree more…apart from that, points 6 and 7 are personal experiences….sigh….India when will things change!!

    Like

  6. R Miglani August 5, 2014 / 11:46 AM

    what a way to put things in a list !
    Appreciate !

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran August 5, 2014 / 6:30 PM

    Haha… There could be more things… I remembered corruption too.. But I have another post planned for that!

    Like

  8. Sreesha Divakaran August 5, 2014 / 6:31 PM

    We can do our bit. Changing anyone isn't up to us and even telling them is a waste of our breath! So, yeah!

    Like

  9. Sreesha Divakaran August 5, 2014 / 6:32 PM

    But I do feel there's a minority of us trying to make some changes, hoping we'll grow into a bigger group. The first sign of better things to come is admitting there's a flaw.

    Like

  10. Sreesha Divakaran August 5, 2014 / 6:33 PM

    I am really glad you gave this idea for this edition of Indispire. Like I said in my comment above, change isn't far once we admit we are flawed.

    Like

  11. Sreesha Divakaran August 8, 2014 / 7:10 PM

    Stereotyping is a habit. We do it without giving it much thought; but better sense prevails!

    Like

  12. Jyotsna Bhatia August 17, 2014 / 7:52 PM

    Why am I not surprised that you have written this post? Any guesses?

    Like

  13. Sreesha Divakaran August 18, 2014 / 6:55 PM

    LOL! You should really read the latest one then! In a similar vein, but different POV.

    Like

Leave a Reply

