Against Blogging Challenges?


There a lot of people whose work becomes more presentable if they have finished it with a deadline in mind.
I am not one of those people.
I wrote twenty six posts for the April challenge. It is the first time I participated in a blogging challenge.  But as soon as the challenge was over, I felt I had exhausted my thinking ability. I realized some of the posts were quite meaningless, written only to fulfill the obligation to the letter with which the title began. Most of the posts were written in under five minutes and I did not tax my mind too much. As with all posts of mine (random and well thought out), I did not edit or proofread it. Which brought me to this question once the challenge was over – why did I really start blogging?
I started it to write down my thoughts when I had some, which was rare. My brain is forever on vacation and on rare days, it dusts off its spectacles and lights a little cigarette and when that happens, you can (figuratively) see a light bulb glow above my head. That’s when I write. But during the blogging challenge, I felt I was churning out posts for the sake of churning it out. Milking my brain; disturbing it while it vacationed on sandy beaches with a colorful drink with a little umbrella on top.
What was the point? Not a lot of those poems would have a lesson or a thought. And some titles were just there to fill in the letter. Zenith would’ve made more sense to people had I titled it something like “The Big-O”. And what in God’s name does “Voyages that have stories to tell” mean? People tell stories about voyages. Voyages do not tell stories about people. But nevertheless, people liked that one, I think. So it’s okay, I guess.
No! it’s not okay. A certain degree of integrity got compromised in putting those titles that were “plugged in” where they don’t belong. Correctly.
It is great for those who make blogging challenges work for them. But to keep my name up there every day isn’t why I blog. So that’s gonna be the last blogging challenge in which I am gonna participate.
Gotta give my brain a little rest so that it can think after a break.


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

 

16 thoughts on “Against Blogging Challenges?

  1. Jyotsna Bhatia May 15, 2014 / 8:23 PM

    Aww..babes dont be so harsh on yourself. Yes, Apirl was taxing. But come on, it was something we did to see if we could push our writing limits. And with five minutes for every post, I think you did a very good job. I agree, even I fitted some titles for a couple of alphabets and even I wasnt happy with a few posts of mine. But that's fine!! Not every post that we churn can be out of this world. So yes, allow your brain to chill on some serene beaches for a while, but hey, give it a return ticket to come back to blogging too.. Hugs !!

    Like

  2. Beloo Mehra May 16, 2014 / 9:49 AM

    I agree with Jyotsna, don't be so hard on yourself. It is all for some good mental/writing fun anyway….Blog the way you like. That's the key.

    Like

  3. Preethi Venugopal May 16, 2014 / 4:56 PM

    Aha..Don't be so harsh on yourself… I actually felt good after I completed the challenge.. Even I had also done some make-belief posts…It is all part of the game. My hand itches if don't type something daily now. I guess that is one of the benefits..

    Like

  4. Midnight scribbles May 18, 2014 / 5:45 PM

    Hey! You know this was exactly why I didn't participate in the challenge. When I'm on a deadline I dont write well..I write about things I feel passionate about. If I see a prompt that catches my fancy I write it..but I dont if my mind comes up blank. Well although I must say you have done a good effort babe so dont give up yet. Never say never they say! 🙂

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran May 20, 2014 / 6:27 PM

    😀 Yeah, still resting… But I guess, I'm gonna lay off challenges for sometime. Don't know, may change my mind.

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran May 20, 2014 / 6:29 PM

    Aah! Once i was done, my mind just looked for a lot of rest 😛 I felt exhausted! And I felt I didn't really bring out anything meaningful as such.

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran May 20, 2014 / 6:30 PM

    I write for prompts too sometimes. But prompts are the equivalent of thinking inside the box. You look around yourself, and you're not looking to write. You're looking to fit what's around you into the prompt. So yeah, choosy about prompts too!

    Like

  8. confusedhumanity May 31, 2014 / 4:23 PM

    i know…i barely made it to letter Q and then my mind went blank..i guess i too am not crafted for challenges :)…

    Like

  9. Anita July 15, 2014 / 2:56 PM

    Sreesha, I am yet to take part in a Blogging Challenge as time is the factor & I don't know whether I will be able to devote that much time everyday to submit a post daily!
    I tend to invest a lot of time writing a single post. In a way, youy are right that quality may get compromised!
    But, then, these challenges make us write compulsorily 🙂
    Never say never 🙂

    Like

  10. Sreesha Divakaran July 16, 2014 / 1:44 PM

    The idea is to write compulsorily. But sheer numbers at the cost of quality doesn't isn't really worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

