Yellowed Pages Of My Old Diary


Oh how many hearts I drew,
Oh how many times I wrote “L+S” in those hearts,
Made me wonder who he was,
Who once made me dream of stars?

Oh! Right, he was a star,
One from Hollywood, no less
The “L” meant Leonardo DiCaprio of course,
How silly of me back then!

A hundred sitcoms we watch,
A hundred Wodehouse novels we read,
But there’s nothing funnier than reading,
An old diary that shows what we’ve been!

Influenced so much by Betty Cooper
Every entry began with a “Dear Diary”
My Archie was so intangible,
And yet what soulful funny poems did I write!

Towards certain teachers there were
Detailed descriptions of hatred
And the pony tails of some girls that were
Undeservedly perfect!

But all in all there were some lessons learnt
Pearls of wisdom from younger days
Though they may seem so dumb now!
They helped me reach where I am today.

Oh how thankful I remain
To those yellowed pages of my old diary
To the thoughts of my eleven-year old self!
A silly, younger, and yet wiser me!


Linking this post to #AtoZChallenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/)
12 thoughts on “Yellowed Pages Of My Old Diary

  1. stefani April 29, 2014 / 8:14 AM

    I agree. Old diaries are such a hoot. I love to read mine and see what was just so important to me back then. Oh and that secret code I created for things I really wanted to keep secret and yet today I no longer know what that secret code is. Those secrets are forever safe! LOL!

    Stefani @ Dreams of Nyssa

    Like

  2. Anita May 1, 2014 / 3:17 AM

    Do remember my Diaries! Safe in my locker 🙂

    Like

  3. Jyotsna Bhatia May 2, 2014 / 9:28 AM

    So true and apt Sreesha. There is nothing better than reading your old diary! The best part is reading about how some problems that seemed so huge back then do not exist today! Somehow this reassures me that things will be fine in the end 🙂

    Like

  4. Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2014 / 6:00 PM

    Oh, I burnt all of mine sometime after marriage. For obvious reasons 😛

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran May 2, 2014 / 6:01 PM

    That's true! When I read about my old tantrums, it's funny, a little embarrassing, and yet reassuring all at the same time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

