That Winding Road That I Refuse To Take

I passed by that road again

A scent remained

Of yours still there

Reminding me of why I donโ€™t come this way

For you were preserved

Underneath a trunk

Of memories

Opened only when the tears came,

Which was often.

And then you remained

Only a shadow I longed to keep,

With which I covered myself with

On lonely nights when I got no sleep.

But if I passed by that winding road again,

Someday you might be standing there

And would have forgotten who I am and I would

Wonder why I still showed up to care.

Linking this post to #AtoZChallenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/)

12 thoughts on “That Winding Road That I Refuse To Take

  1. The Side I Hide April 22, 2014 / 9:42 PM

    Awww… I loved the third para! Loved the imagery you created! It is sad, but beautiful.:)

    Like

  2. No Beeps Just Thoughts April 23, 2014 / 4:48 AM

    Nice write-up. I kinda felt I missed the theme a bit but then I felt the abstractness took me over ๐Ÿ™‚ I loved the last stanza., read it so many times again and again.

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran April 23, 2014 / 5:23 PM

    Well, what I had in mind is this: Sometimes, we move away from some people and they live on only in our memories (lets say it was a breakup or unrequited love). We try to stay away from whatever reminds us of them. Because we still keep all their memories, well preserved within a corner of our minds and it can just be one simple thing that will trigger them and make us nostalgic again. In this case, the narrator of the poem walked by the road where the person he/she is trying to forget lives.
    Thanks a lot for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Sreesha Divakaran April 23, 2014 / 5:33 PM

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you didn't get too nostalgic. Some memories are better off buried.

    Like

  5. Jyotsna Bhatia April 23, 2014 / 6:01 PM

    Aww… lovely one babe.. the last para is just beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  6. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder April 23, 2014 / 9:29 PM

    Memories always lie in sub-conscious …whether we want them to be preserved or not .
    Nicely expressed Sreesha.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran April 25, 2014 / 7:07 PM

    Yes, and the harder we try to suppress them, the more vigorously they resurface.

    Like

Leave a Reply

