Monks Of The Old Country


She was my father’s friend’s daughter, a year older than I. Her parents were visiting the city and allowed her to go out and play with me. We lost track of time. It was dark. We decided to return home.
Suddenly, out of nowhere, a rather large hound appeared. It growled ferociously and ran towards us. I screamed, and with all the selfishness of an eight-year old, climbed up a nearby fence, without offering a helping hand to my friend, or even letting her know there was a fence she could climb. She ran, and was soon lost in the shadows of the night. Somewhere far, I could hear the hound’s gruff barking.
I was momentarily glad that the dog had chased her and not me. But I knew, I couldn’t go back home to our parents and tell them I had lost her.
I began walking in the direction she had run. Suddenly, I tripped over a stone and fell to the ground. When I raised my head, I realized I was at a very different place. There were three men in a clearing ahead, standing around a fire. They were dressed like monks. They seemed to be chanting. Next to them was the hound that had chased us. They threw half of a red, pulpy object into the fire, and they gave the remaining half to the hound. The hound’s head seemed to arch backwards, and suddenly, the hound began emitting a strange sound. It soon became clear to me that it was uttering words, in a strained, broken voice.
I was at a séance.
The red pulpy object was my friend’s heart.
In fear, I turned around to run back the way I had come. I found myself facing a fourth monk.

Linking this post to #AtoZChallenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/)
14 thoughts on “Monks Of The Old Country

  1. Soumya April 15, 2014 / 8:19 AM

    Oh! How do you even think of such things? Wonderful imagination you are blessed with 🙂

    Like

  2. Grammy April 15, 2014 / 10:43 AM

    Whoa! What a page turner that would be! They must have been Druids of Eld. Good story plot! Best regards to you… Ruby aka Blabbin' Grammy. Number 761 (today) on the blog challenge list.

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran April 15, 2014 / 5:53 PM

    Thanks so much for reading, and for your encouraging words, Ruby! Keep visiting!

    Like

  4. CRD April 16, 2014 / 3:22 AM

    Awesome. I've only tried this genre once before, but it would qualify more as something to do with the supernatural and not horror per se.

    Wonderful narration SD. Edge-of-the-seat stuff.

    Cheers
    CRD

    Like

  5. Anita April 16, 2014 / 6:49 AM

    Chilling. Am thinking of the parents now…

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran April 16, 2014 / 4:49 PM

    Trust me, I am too much of a phattu to read a scary book or watch a scary movie! In fact, when I was writing my post for the letter O, but cell beeped, and I jumped! 😛

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran April 16, 2014 / 4:51 PM

    Thanks so much! I would love to read your work in this genre. Do share the link!

    Like

  8. Sreesha Divakaran April 16, 2014 / 4:54 PM

    The parents conduct a search that goes on for days. But none of the detectives or policemen trip on the stone and land into the old country.
    The fourth monk prepares gravy using the narrator's heart, liver and other organs; the hound finishes off the narrator's friend during his trance.
    So their bodies were never found either.

    Like

  9. Sreesha Divakaran April 17, 2014 / 10:44 AM

    Haha.. but I am…! Really, have to become a little more bold and start reading Stephen King for inspiration! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

