Kindergarten: A Day From Childhood


Kids can be mean. And their practical jokes can be meaner. Especially if you’re a particularly gullible kid yourself.
One day, when I was a four-year old kindergartner, one of the “mean girls” in school came and told me that the class teacher was mad at us and wouldn’t allow us to go back home that afternoon. This was early in the morning, before the assembly, which meant I had just enough time to grab my bag and scoot. I couldn’t stay back in school now, could I? I had to meet my mother. And I, like all normal kids, wasn’t very fond of my class teacher.
So, that’s exactly what I did. Grabbed my bag, climbed down the stairs, unassisted, and without standing in a line (at a one-arm distance from other students) and walked out the gate. This was before the era of mobile phones, and in any case it’s a terrible idea to give one to a four-year old (I sometimes give mine to my two-year old; he treats phones, his mini football, crockery, all in the same manner). There was no way I could call my mom and ask her to pick me up. But this four-year old had some great memory back then (did I lock the front door today? I’ve no idea)! I decided to walk home.
My house was at a walking distance, but I had to cross one of the busiest roads (during the morning rush hour). In New Delhi no less, where nearly everyone’s dad owns the road you’re walking on/driving on/thinking about.
To the adults on the road, a two-foot (or thereabouts) human being walking boldly alongside them may have been an uncommon (and hilarious) sight. A parent, coincidentally of one of my classmates, talked to me and said, “Beta, no one will stop you from going home. I’ll take you back to school on my scooter.” (Or something on those lines; I just remember his scooter). I threw in a few punches, and tried my best to stop him. I planned on running away again as soon as he dropped me at the gate.
But he personally handed me over to my class teacher.
Who slapped me a couple of times. 😦

And then complained about the incident to my brother when he came to pick me up in the afternoon. 😦
Who then told my mom, who sat and cried about the horrible things “that could’ve happened to me.”
And then she told my dad about it.
Since then, my protective parents became overly-protective. And still are. :\
Linking this post to #AtoZChallenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/)

11 thoughts on “Kindergarten: A Day From Childhood

  1. muktodhara April 12, 2014 / 5:24 AM

    So basically You were the kindergarten version of Lindsay Lohan in Mean Girls 😛

    Like

  2. Indrani April 15, 2014 / 3:16 AM

    😀 I am laughing but it actually is scary! Anything could have happened.

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran April 15, 2014 / 5:14 PM

    Yeah, now I think of this incident from my mom's POV. Imagine if my son does something of this sort!!! Dear Lord!

    Like

    • Sreesha Diva December 11, 2015 / 11:15 AM

      Oh well, now as a parent, I realize, I probably deserved the slaps! In fact she slapped me not just for running away, but also cos when she asked me who the girls were, I happily pointed out and they (obviously) denied my claims. XD

      Like

  4. Vinay Leo R. December 11, 2015 / 10:53 PM

    I tried when I was in 1st grade (and in a new school). The guard caught me by the time I reached the end of the street though. And the laughing teacher showed me to the corner of the room and put a dunce cap on my head. 😛

    I guess looking back, I can laugh at that, and some other such memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva December 14, 2015 / 9:38 AM

      Oh yeah, mine was a new school too.
      Haha, everything seems funny now; as a kid it was all an adventure 😀

      Like

  5. Carlyn Brody January 6, 2016 / 2:40 AM

    If I was slapped at school, I wouldn’t have wanted to go either. The teacher shouldn’t have slapped you, she should have explained to you the situation. When my brother was a kindergartner, he left school too. He has asthma and couldn’t breathe so he thought the best thing to do was go home to see our mother. The school reacted differently than in your situation. When they discovered he was missing, they searched the whole school and called our mum. My brother realising that he was in trouble hid behind a tree in the backyard so we didn’t know where he was. The teacher came to our house in tears because she felt so guilty that she had lost a student. Fortunately, my older brother found him and convinced him to turn himself in.

    My little brother didn’t get in trouble though. They just gently talked to him about how he should not have gone home.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva January 12, 2016 / 9:43 AM

      Yeah, you’re right, she could have explained it to me instead of slapping me, though what I did was wrong (and dangerous). Along with getting slapped, I got an earful from my parents and my brother :\ God, funny to think about it now though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

