Incomplete


I woke up to find myself alone in the room. In fact, my husband’s side of the bed did not even look slept in. I looked at my desk, where papers were strewn, pages of a book I had been trying to work on. Was it my imagination or had my desk collected dust overnight?
I crossed the hallway mirror. I noticed something odd about it, but I couldn’t place my finger on what it was. Through the French windows, I saw my husband. He was bent over a – a grave! A grave in my backyard? There was an open notebook on the grave and some wilted flowers. I walked closer.
He did not stir as I approached. He seemed to have slept off, right there on the grave. Then I saw it – my name on the gravestone.
None of this made sense. I had so much work to do. I couldn’t be dead, not yet. When was the last time I told him that I loved him? I picked up the notebook.
“You left,” he had written, “leaving me alone and a part of me incomplete. I hope you know how much I love you.”
I do not know if tears had welled up in my eyes. I tried to stroke his hair. Then I realized what was odd about the hallway mirror. I hadn’t been able to see myself in it.




Linking this post to #AtoZChallenge (http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/)

 

18 thoughts on “Incomplete

  1. Jyotsna Bhatia April 9, 2014 / 8:05 PM

    This is your genre girl.. the dead talk to you 😛 But on a serious note, it also says that one should express their feelings to loved ones with time on hand…Afterall, you never know !!

    Like

  2. Prasanna Rao April 10, 2014 / 8:34 AM

    A beautiful piece of fiction, I always stress that people do not say I Love you to their near and dear one's often.

    Like

  3. The Side I Hide April 10, 2014 / 6:53 PM

    Love the pathos!
    I had written a similar post a while ago. 🙂

    Like

  4. CYNOSURE April 12, 2014 / 4:47 PM

    OMG…That was simply awesome… 🙂

    Like

  5. Lata Sunil November 16, 2015 / 2:12 PM

    Good story.. I liked that she realised what was odd as she couldnt see herself in the mirror. I found that chilling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva November 16, 2015 / 3:45 PM

      Thanks, Parul. Yup, it could be any of us. How often do we tell our loved ones about how much they mean to us?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

