Mirror, Mirror


Mirror, mirror,
You are such a liar,
You say everything is flawless,
Yet, inside I am crumbling,
I’m such a mess.
You show people
What they wish to see
I bet half the world wouldn’t look at you
If you could show people
Their real miseries.
Sleep comes slowly
On nights like these
When you tell me all is perfect,
My hair and skin,
But you could not be more incorrect.
Because you remain
Just another beautified piece
Of otherwise ordinary glass
You befriend those whom you convince
Outwardly of their class.
The skin will wrinkle
The hair will turn grey
One day I wouldn’t recognize myself
In you
Just another stranger in the mirror.
10 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. Abhra Pal March 11, 2014 / 11:31 AM

    He he – good one, I recently wrote something similar a few days back 🙂

    Like

  2. An Indian Writer March 12, 2014 / 3:28 AM

    Not sure how much of the feeling behind this is contrived and how much real, but if you are able to write poetry from frustration (misery?), it is wonderful.

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran March 15, 2014 / 3:46 PM

    A lot of my earlier poems were a direct result of a sort-of-depressing period I went through in life. This one was written after some reflection that was triggered when someone pointed out (and I agreed) how superficial and shallow the world we live in has become.

    Like

  4. neo March 25, 2014 / 8:16 PM

    Awesome,loved it -ranjan

    Like

Leave a Reply

