Unblissfully Ignorant


There’s a belief I have held about newspapers over the years. Reading one is like plunging into a book somewhere in the middle. The stories about the exploits and adventures of our ministers would have started somewhere long long ago, but the newspaper I pick up today would be talking about what’s new in the same story. As a result, I wouldn’t be able to make out who the characters are, what the plot twist is or who are the suspects. And so it continued.
Until recently, I wasn’t bothered by utter ignorance of the Indian political scene (oh, I forgot to mention – to me, newspapers = politics). But a few days back, I went to the office cafeteria, where a bunch of guys were having a heated discussion for over lunch. It went something like, “Random-words-Congress-some-other-words-that-I-did-not-understand-blah-blah-blah” I looked at my friend and commented, “Why would anyone wanna discuss politics over lunch?” She agreed. Later, I heard a similar politically seasoned and spiced conversation in the elevator. And suddenly, all around me, people were just discussing politics. Even my friends on Facebook and Twitter put up angry status lines in Greek. Or Latin. Or random political rants, I don’t know!
There was something about my ignorance that had begun to bother me. There are some things that we are often (and for our own good, must remain) blissfully unaware of (for example, in the cafeteria if I had overheard something like, “Dabangg is such a great movie yaa.” I would’ve probably gagged on my lunch) But politics, however dirty it might be, was intriguing. And it annoyed me that if I were asked to vote, I have no clue whom to vote for. Do I have the right to choose no one at all? What if I have no faith in the candidates? And the worst of all – I was clueless about even the most basic things like “what type of elections are there?” I don’t even know how the ministers function, or how they are selected or what party they belong to. Do all of them belong to the same party?! Or is it (forgive me!) like how we have houses in school?
Newspapers still give me the feeling of plunging into the middle of a book. I get news tidbits (hell! this is embarrassing) from Twitter feed. But really, I need to learn some stuff, otherwise if I hear someone say “XYZ party must win!” and the only response I can think of will be “The finger foods must be good, in that case.”


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

 

16 thoughts on “Unblissfully Ignorant

  1. Rajrupa Gupta January 22, 2014 / 4:08 AM

    Ohh! been there done that! I kept nodding throughout!

    Like

  2. An Indian Writer January 22, 2014 / 5:06 AM

    Newspapers are a waste of time anyway. (Don't tell anyone I said so.)

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran January 22, 2014 / 6:24 AM

    Couldn't if I wanted to! Though I read all your posts, I have no clue what your name is 😛

    Like

  4. Preethi Venugopal January 22, 2014 / 6:33 AM

    I too am clueless when it comes to politics…Not my cup of tea anyway… I run miles away from such discussions…:)

    Like

  5. muktodhara January 22, 2014 / 6:35 AM

    All I can say is…. Sun Yaar… Chill Maar… its not you are missing out on something very important.. 😀

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran January 22, 2014 / 7:26 AM

    Yeah I usually run away too. But then, there are times when you feel so stupid cos you have nothing to offer on the subject. So you know..

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran January 22, 2014 / 7:41 AM

    I know it might sound pompous but I feel very bad when people are having a discussion on something like this and I sit like a blank duck. So just for the sake of being a participant at least, you know, I thought I should know something..

    Like

  8. Krishna January 22, 2014 / 7:00 PM

    In a way its good to be away from politics. But think of yourself. You don't vote. you don't know any political party here. You don't know the economics of India. Think of a situation if 120 crore people of India also thinks the same way. Do you think we can live here without these factors? So i would say you should vote and elect your candidate that way contributing to country's growth as well as your own growth in a way. Regarding the newspaper its almost like the news channels on TV. They represent some party or their editors will be followers of some party or inclined to some political party, they will hide the news about those parties. Also to increase their readership they will go for masala's and entertainment which kills the true journalism.

    No intention to hurt anybody's feelings. Everyone has the right to do anything in India. But just think that your involvement can make a big difference.

    Like

  9. Jyotsna Bhatia January 22, 2014 / 7:34 PM

    You know what babes, enjoy your ignorance bliss… Trust me, its much better than boiling your blood after knowing about the weird practices (read corruption) of various political parties..

    Like

  10. indu chhibber January 23, 2014 / 1:41 PM

    Don't worry ,even the politicians are a confused lot today.

    Like

  11. Sreesha Divakaran January 23, 2014 / 5:25 PM

    Yes, I understand what you're saying. That's why I wanna know what's happening. At the same time, what if there's no one worth voting for. You know, that's the big question.

    Like

  12. Carlyn Brody January 24, 2014 / 8:20 AM

    I think it's good that you want to be informed of the political situation in India. You could also watch the news on tv and research on the internet.

    Like

  13. Sreesha Divakaran January 25, 2014 / 3:02 PM

    The problem with the internet is that there's too much info. None of it is structured and you have no clue where to begin. It's overwhelming! Watching the news on TV is a good option…

    Like

Leave a Reply

