Hunger

Hunger is the cruelest of all feelings. It’s insatiable. No matter how many times you eat, no matter how full you feel, in a matter of hours the rumble begins again.
For me, it had been more than a few hours. It had been a few days. Winter had begun, and all the animals had moved to warmer parts of the jungle. Not one was left for me to prey on. I slithered about aimlessly on the ground, sometimes up the trees. But even bird’s nests weren’t left. My skin left no marks where I had been, my skin collected nothing from the ground I had tread on.
 
A sudden movement on my right caught my eye. It was the toad, my faithful friend – the only companion I had in this forest. He always had stories to tell me. But…
But hunger is the cruelest of feelings. Today, I saw not my friend, but an object to be gobbled, if I wanted to keep myself alive. My forked tongue was out, my mouth had begun to water. The toad sensed the shift in my behavior. “No!” he cried, “I am your friend. I always have been.”
“A snake and a toad must never be friends. Besides, you seemed happy when I ate your brother.”
“Yes, I was! I spent my whole life in his shadow. You gave me an identity of my own. Please, don’t do this!” The toad’s eyes widened with fear.
“Well, one must never hurt one’s family. And one must never trust a snake. Especially if – ,” I paused for a theatrical effect and continued, “Especially if one is a toad.”
In a flash, I was up on my prey, my fang-like teeth digging into his spotted brown body. Hunger cost me my only companion.
This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda. 
16 thoughts on “Hunger

  1. Jyotsna Bhatia January 18, 2014 / 6:27 PM

    Good one babes.. True in human lyf too, isnt it ? You are forced to harm your own friends and companions in this journey to success, journey of survival !

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran January 18, 2014 / 6:32 PM

    Yup. That's what I had in mind when I wrote this. You never know when someone would stab you when your back is turned…

    Like

  3. Preethi Venugopal January 19, 2014 / 11:46 AM

    What a story…so closely resembling human stories as well…

    Nice post..

    Like

  4. Richa Singh January 19, 2014 / 1:06 PM

    Such a different take on the 'friendship' can I extrapolate it to real human life too?

    Richa

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran January 19, 2014 / 1:06 PM

    Yup, humans seldom value family or friendship nowadays.
    Thanks for reading, Preethi 🙂

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran January 19, 2014 / 1:08 PM

    Whereas a human may not “eat” a friend, our epics are full of stories about backstabbers. And we might have met some in our lives too.

    Like

  7. muktodhara January 20, 2014 / 5:16 AM

    Well..since FB smileys won't work here, I give it to you in writing….
    THUMBS UP!!!!
    😀

    Like

  8. kalaravi16 December 17, 2015 / 4:19 PM

    This reminded me of the hunger-crazed Alex the Lion from Madagascar! Surviving the most primeval of instincts! Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

