Dear Santa…

Dear Santa,
I don’t believe in your theory of naughty and nice
I was never naughty, nor was I ever nice,
And yet you have always given me presents,
So you too think naughty and nice is just a pretense
Utter nonsense?

Dear Santa,
This year, give me the courage to be less outspoken
But still keep me honest.
And if you plan on keeping me outspoken
Then give me the brains to let me know where I should keep my mouth shut
I am tired of hearing shocked tut-tuts

Dear Santa,
I wish you would teach everyone
That being happy is better than being right
Because even you don’t believe in naughty and nice
You just want everyone to be happy and that
Is what everyone must want for themselves

Dear Santa,
I don’t wanna lose weight cos I am tired of trying.
So whatever you bring me
Let it not be a weighing machine
Give me the brains to understand
That I am perfect as I am!

Dear Santa,
Does Mrs Claus get angry when you leave her alone on Christmas?
I am sure she must be used to it by now,
But if she gets mad at you, how do you make her smile again?
How do you coax and cajole her?
Teach me your tricks that ensure marital bliss!

And last, but not the least, Dear Santa,
May my backward ass country be more accepting
Change laws that were written aeons ago
Cos God is not upset nor does he remember nor does he care!
He has better things to do. Clearly!
Gift my country’s 1.237 billion people their right to choose.
Woah that’s a big number, I swear it’s true!

Say “Hi” to Mrs Claus for me!
Kisses to you both! Muahh!


Top post on IndiBlogger.in, the community of Indian Bloggers

34 thoughts on “Dear Santa…

  1. Abhijit Ray December 25, 2013 / 7:54 AM

    Nice. Be honest and diplomatic. That will still be outspoken.

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran December 25, 2013 / 7:58 AM

    Still learning diplomacy! It's not one of my strongest traits…
    Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Like

  3. Saru Singhal December 25, 2013 / 12:09 PM

    This poem has various shades – from fun to harsh truth. Love the mention of Mrs Claus. 🙂

    Like

  4. nothingprofound December 25, 2013 / 2:58 PM

    Great poem, Sreesha. Funny and honest. I guess you can't avoid being outspoken and direct. You wished for some wonderful things. I hope your wishes all come true. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  5. Bharati Singha December 25, 2013 / 3:47 PM

    Oh!! such a thoughtful poem, Sreesha. Love it. May Santa Fulfill all your wishes!
    Merry Christmas!!

    Like

  6. Abhijnan December 26, 2013 / 6:10 AM

    Dear Santa,
    I want a fat balance and a thin body….
    and please do not mix 'em up like you did last time..

    Like

  7. BiYaGo December 26, 2013 / 3:51 PM

    Nice one….and honest too….Merry Christmas Sreesha 🙂

    Like

  8. Jyotsna Bhatia December 26, 2013 / 7:00 PM

    Whooaaa.. thats some wishlist girl.. Merry Christmas 🙂

    Like

  9. shanayatales November 24, 2015 / 11:17 PM

    LOL. You letter #2 – yes I need some of that for Christmas. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sreesha Diva November 25, 2015 / 9:46 AM

      Oh yes, I know right! OMG. Same pinch 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

