The Backstabber

I loathe you today because of the hurt you caused
You backstabber
I trusted you with stories of battles that I lost
You backstabber

Days of youth are spent in pleasures unknown
You backstabber
It is the time when your mind is worn
You backstabber
I lost my virtues, and I lost my pride
You backstabber
I lost a child, because I wasn’t someone’s bride
You backstabber

Judgment is thin and innocence is lost
You backstabber
Using my lack of thought
You backstabber
You found your weapon in my stories
You backstabber
You thought all I say can be used against me
You backstabber

You did not see my tears
You backstabber
All you saw was how you can feed on my fears
You backstabber
And now I stand before the world
You backstabber
I don’t fear you or yours
You backstabber

Tales of ghosts of the past
You backstabber
Should come to roost and put forever to rest
You backstabber
Unless these haunted memories have been laid to rest
You backstabber
You, like a spectre will forever be a threat
A hundred kisses won’t make up for how you breached my trust, you backstabber!

16 thoughts on “The Backstabber

  1. Sreesha Divakaran November 24, 2013 / 4:07 PM

    Thanks, Uma. šŸ™‚
    There was some real anger, and some imagined, to clearly put this into words.

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran November 24, 2013 / 4:10 PM

    Haan! But some of the anger is borrowed, based on some bad experiences of someone I know..

    Like

  3. Bhavya Kaushik November 24, 2013 / 4:38 PM

    Loved the repetition. It imparted a very lyrical feel to it. Nicely penned.

    Like

  4. Abhra December 1, 2013 / 5:09 PM

    Very well written but in my opinion the effect of so much repetition is somewhat overkill – it's taking the reader away from the beauty of the poem.

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran December 1, 2013 / 5:53 PM

    Yeah, once I read it with a calmer mind, I too felt the same. But by then, it was already published, so I thought let it be. It seemed okay in the first stanza, so I didn't think too much. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Abhijnan December 2, 2013 / 8:02 AM

    I can already see a Rock Ballad in this… I am off to get my guitar..

    Like

  7. Geets July 22, 2015 / 4:03 PM

    That is one hell of a poem I've read in ages..!! Kudos to your thoughts and writing..

    Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

