Petrichor


And clouds…

I have had a fascination for rains ever since I can remember (also beaches, but this post is strictly about the rains!) After the first rain of the season, the earth has a peculiar smell. I do not know a single person who does not like this smell. It is as heady as a perfume.

Sometime back, when my blog was new (okay, a long while back) it was not called Petrichor and Clouds. But when I was revamping it, I wanted it to reflect something that I truly loved; something that made me happy. I had recently discovered 1000 Awesome Things, and while I was convinced my blog name would never be that cool, I still wanted it to have a nice name.

I was reading Friday Thoughts one day, and in one of the posts I came across this word: Petrichor – meaning, the smell of the earth after the rain. It is a real word, but word editors still give you the red wavy line underneath when you type it. I do not know why. 
That word got stuck in my memory. It represented happiness, joy, love, monsoon, all rolled into one! I loved it.

So one part of my blog name had what made me happy. I wanted another part to represent what I believed in. I believe in the beauty of imperfection. Sure, everyone loves perfectly clear blue skies. A blue sky looks like a painting and whatnot. But it is too perfect. Like an overdose of sugar that gives you a high. One cloud in the sky makes it more, shall I say, “natural” looking? Because nothing was meant to be perfect. Beauty lies in imperfection… Besides, clouds, like petrichor, is also associated with the rains!
PS: Took this pic outside office two days ago (on my phone’s cam). Couldn’t help sharing! 

18 thoughts on “Petrichor

  1. Jyotsna Bhatia November 9, 2013 / 7:57 PM

    I so wantd to read this story.. I agree Petrichor isnt a popular word, if i can say that, coz yes, my editor gave me a red line too :p Bt its indeed a beautiful name 🙂 Keep blogging..

    P.S. I lyk ur name too 😉

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran November 9, 2013 / 8:13 PM

    Thank you 😀

    Yeah, maybe someone coined the word, but the Oxford dictionary is deciding whether or not to accept it! (how sad…)
    I believe the Iranians have a very beautiful word for the smell of the earth after the rain (but I can't recollect it right now), but I don't think it's there in any other language…(?)

    Like

  3. allresourceupdates November 10, 2013 / 9:30 AM

    The Word Petrichor sounds lovely indeed and thanks to you I now know what does it mean and You Blog name perfectly reflects what you love.. 🙂

    And the Photograph is just Awesome.. :D,I guess you had no work in Office that day .. 😛

    Like

  4. Sreesha Divakaran November 10, 2013 / 10:46 AM

    😀 some days are like that.. N my Lumia has a nice cam.. Which I am sure you already know. 🙂

    Like

  5. Richa Singh November 10, 2013 / 6:41 PM

    Very interesting. I love the stories behind blog names. Blogs are such an important extension of our lives and to decide a name for them is almost as good as christening our lives again. The word is so beautiful and to realise I had never known it 🙂

    Richa

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran November 11, 2013 / 3:44 AM

    Yes I hadn't given it much thought when I started blogging. But later on, I knew it mattered..
    Richa, I am guessing you're an HP fan? 😀

    Like

  7. shubham November 11, 2013 / 1:48 PM

    beauty lies in imperfection……i could not connect with that “sugar high” concept….. unless its like after you are drunk and then you compliment it with something sweet to go nuts… (i am not sure if that was the “high” you were talking) ..that imperfection sentiment is something i have truly felt over the time…..beautiful writeup

    Like

  8. Sreesha Divakaran November 11, 2013 / 4:40 PM

    Thanks, Shubham..
    A sugar high is like when you have a lotttt of sweet stuff, you feel really giddy and at times hyper! It doesn't affect those who like sweets, but those who don't like it much really get nauseated..

    Like

  9. An Indian Writer November 11, 2013 / 5:29 PM

    It's certainly a beautiful word, a beautiful fragrance, and a beautiful name for the blog.

    Like

  10. shubham November 11, 2013 / 7:27 PM

    hmmm i should have known better (though still can't connect, as i am one of those who may get nauseated).. returned to see only this sugar effect..should have kept my sugar high concept to myself 🙂

    Like

  11. Sreesha Divakaran November 12, 2013 / 3:34 AM

    Lol, I am sure your concept is valid enough. But this is the sugar high I was referring to. Would you believe, I even hate chocolate flavored cakes!

    Like

  12. Naveen Sharma December 22, 2013 / 4:53 PM

    Nice yr, specially Petrichor…
    nice work btw
    loved it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

