Umbrella

The rain fell like heavy grey velvet curtains. There was no one around, except for a man holding a black umbrella. He stood still, watching the water flood their open graves – the parents and the child. There was no remorse on his face; or in his heart.

 

He thought he saw the child move. Did he imagine it? He could not take that chance. He kept the umbrella on the muddy ground and picked up his shovel. He began to shove dirt into the child’s grave. There was mud over the child’s mouth and nostrils. The man smiled, satisfied.
33 thoughts on “Umbrella

  1. allresourceupdates November 6, 2013 / 8:15 PM

    That is Kind of Gruesome indeed..I am imagining the wicked Smile on the Man's Face..

    Like

  2. Alex Alvarado November 6, 2013 / 8:26 PM

    WIckedly awseome! So few words yet so many images I was able to get from that piece, and the twist at the end really nailed it. Nicely done!

    Like

  3. Sreesha Divakaran November 7, 2013 / 1:51 AM

    I think from “Kind of gruesome”, I should move to “all-out gruesome” for my next attempt. Don't know if I can pull that off, though. Will try!

    Like

  4. Sreesha Divakaran November 7, 2013 / 1:57 AM

    I think I'm gonna play a bit more with this genre of writing, then! 🙂

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran November 7, 2013 / 1:59 AM

    No, Helena, it isn't true. Just something the twisted part of my brain cooked up! 😛

    Like

  6. Sreesha Divakaran November 7, 2013 / 2:18 AM

    Thanks, Alex! I was worried that the word-limit might make it a little cramped and abrupt. But your words are so encouraging!

    Like

  7. Abhijnan November 7, 2013 / 4:04 AM

    yeah..very much looking forward to it… Me likes darkness…Lord Sauran et all. 😀

    Like

  8. Cymbeline November 7, 2013 / 5:30 AM

    A real sad tale..touching one. Well narrated..

    Like

  9. Roshan Radhakrishnan May 4, 2015 / 7:41 AM

    evil… just the way I like my fiction 🙂
    I always believe it takes greater talent to tell a story in fewer words… that's why I suck at it!!

    Like

  10. sulekkha May 4, 2015 / 7:51 AM

    He was a bad man, creative storytelling at its best.

    Like

  11. Parul May 4, 2015 / 4:15 PM

    Oh gosh! I was scared by the end of it..
    Well weaved!

    Like

  12. Sreesha Divakaran May 4, 2015 / 4:33 PM

    Ahemmm! Master storytellers saying they suck at any form of fiction is….??? *cough* lie *cough* 😛 😛 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

