Things We Learn From Our Children


To celebrate this year’s Onam, I decided to take my son to the beach for the first time. He loves his bath-time and he loves his baby pool. I assumed, considering he has some genes of mine, he would love the beach too.
As we walked on the sand, towards the waves, I saw the wonder in his eyes as he saw this huuuge baby pool! He had a big grin on his face. He turned to me with all the wisdom of an almost-two-year old (he turned two yesterday!) and said, “Mummy, the water is running!” I smiled back at him at his cute sentence. Then I thought about it.
Indeed, the water was running. How had I looked at beaches all my life and missed this one simple fact?
 
“The water is running.”
 
I learnt something from my son that day. All the scientific jargon about pressure, tides, lunar pull, blah blah aside, the actual way to look at it was, “The water is running.”
 
And true to my assumption, my son loved the beach! He refused to come out for a long time. We literally had to drag him out and carry him away 😛
 
Here are some pics of the extremely happy water baby (and one pic from earlier that day, taken at home).
 



 
14 thoughts on “Things We Learn From Our Children

  1. Sindhu Devi K October 21, 2013 / 6:24 AM

    Happy B Day to The B Day Baby!
    Someone had rightly said that parenthood is a gift to enjoy childhood again! Awesome post!

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran October 21, 2013 / 6:30 AM

    Thank you for the wishes, Sindhu!
    That's true. He makes me feel like a kid sometimes, even though he calls me Mummy and sits in my lap…! 🙂

    Like

  3. allresourceupdates October 21, 2013 / 7:48 AM

    Wow..He looks so cute Shree.. 😀
    And Belated Happy Birthday to him and I guess you had a lot of Happy Time.. 😀
    Indeed Kids makes us feel happy…

    Like

  4. Abhra October 21, 2013 / 10:00 AM

    Beautiful and so cute. My daughter also teaches me a lot of things. 🙂

    Like

  5. Sreesha Divakaran October 21, 2013 / 12:57 PM

    They have their own way of looking at things… That are so enlightening to “grownups” like us!

    Like

  6. Ashwini C N October 22, 2013 / 4:46 PM

    Very cute. Kids with their innocence and ignorance teach us some really valuable lessons 🙂

    Like

  7. Sreesha Divakaran October 22, 2013 / 6:12 PM

    Yes, they do. And we foolishly believe we are teaching them new things!

    Like

  8. Renard Moreau October 27, 2013 / 12:03 AM

    [ Smiles ] Children are indeed smart and if we pay attention to them, we can learn a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

