My Shadow

As I walk away, I feel so small,
The world is lit up with the night lamps,
The leaves, the grass; the lamps light them all.
Except me; for even my shadow is bigger than me.

It is a nightmare that I am running away from,
Finding a way out of the puddle of blood i have fallen into.
My head aches as the heart beats a cruel drum
I feel so lost; for even my shadow mocks me.

The lost yesterdays and the forgotten chances
Beckon me and return to me a certain guilt.
A tale of regrets and a tale of borrowed wine glasses,
Talks to me of my ego and reminds me.
I am nothing now; even my shadow is more prominent than me.

6 thoughts on “My Shadow

  1. allresourceupdates October 18, 2013 / 8:10 AM

    This reminds me of the Song from GreenDay–Boulevard of Broken Dreams..
    “I walk a lonely road,The only one that I have ever known”

    And Remember Your Shadow is what you are but even in dark our shadow leaves us,So how can it be prominent than us

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran October 18, 2013 / 2:32 PM

    I love boulevard of broken dreams! Its a great song.
    Right, what I meant is that a persons ego destroys their life, and even something as insignificant as their shadow becomes bigger than them.

    Like

  3. Abhra October 19, 2013 / 12:55 AM

    Beautifully written and I must admit the powerful visions.

    Like

  4. jahid October 20, 2013 / 9:49 AM

    Beautiful composition, quite lyrical !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

