The Straw and The Devil’s Embrace


I clutch at the straw, I know I am drowning
The straw is close, but I am too much of a coward
It stays just out of my reach and
I am too afraid to venture a little forward
I feel the air leaving my lungs,
I know now this is the end,
Life lies to me, says it knows not how things are between us
I clutch again at the straw; my scars are raw, I am wounded…
I think back at all the things I should’ve done
But where’s a priest when you want to confess
I see the waters as they close upon me
The devil’s choir sing of duress
I saw the devil grin, I knew death was close
The straw mocked my fingers turning blue
The devil has me now in a cold embrace
Before my eyelids finally closed, I allowed the last teardrop to fall
With what was left of me, I looked back at the straw
Said, mock me all you will, but I will always remember trying to clutch on to you…
2 thoughts on “The Straw and The Devil’s Embrace

  1. allresourceupdates September 10, 2013 / 10:55 AM

    Lovely Lines..Somehow these lines brought back the memories when I was almost drowned and thanks to my friend I am alive now…

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran September 10, 2013 / 4:55 PM

    That must have been a terrible experience!!! Thank goodness for your friend…

    Like

Leave a Reply

