The Impossible…

When I was a child, maybe around three or four years old, there was just one wish that I had. I wanted to touch the setting sun. A lot of us have heard the phrase “to cry for the moon”. I literally lived it. only, it was the sun that I cried for, and not the moon. I would look out my window at the setting sun, with a wistful expression on my face, for no matter how much I cried, my parents could do nothing to fulfil this one teensy wish of mine. Didn’t they understand that I just wanted to touch it once? They would tell me, “It’s too hot”, “You’ll get burned”, and so many such things. But with all the logic of a three- year old, my mind refused to accept it. My reasoning was, it is falling into water, however could it be hot? For I had enough experience in throwing water at burning candles to know that fire gets extinguished with water. And my tears would continue.

One fine day, on television, I saw this scene showing the sun setting into the sea. I looked at my mother, a finger pointing at the TV screen. The next scene showed a hospital and many people lying there. I never found out what really happened to those people. But what my mother told me was this, “See, they went and touched the sun. Now they’re sick, and lying in the hospital.”

A lot of times, my parents gave me the true reason why nobody could touch the sun, but I never believed them. This simple lie from my mother put an end to that wish of mine.

But only to that one. To this day, I believe, I have not changed much. I do not cry for the sun anymore, but whenever I dream, I dream the impossible. And anybody who is planning to give me clichés like “nothing is impossible” or “dream big, and achieve it” and all that, well, let me tell you – I don’t believe you. Call me pessimistic or whatever, on similar lines, but like it or not, I believe it to be the truth – what is impossible, is impossible. And just by dreaming of it coming true, you cannot really take the actions to make the impossible possible. For instance, supposed I had lived on with my childhood desire. What would the “dream big” optimists tell me? To launch a rocket to the sun? I mean, excuse me, buddy! Another argument they could come up with is that you should dream only that which would keep you happy (and alive!) well, if you had brought me the sun when i was a child, I would definitely have been “happy”. No doubt about that. You dream something, you try to achieve it. You fail in the first attempt, you try again. You fail again; then give up. Why waste your time?

So, clichés apart, I believe the truth is – what is impossible, is impossible, stays impossible. Nothing is going to change that simple fact.

7 thoughts on “The Impossible…

  1. nothingprofound October 2, 2013 / 12:15 AM

    Yes, lots of things are impossible. There are so many marvelous things within our grasp, why frustrate ourselves reaching for the impossible.

    Like

  2. Sreesha Divakaran October 2, 2013 / 8:36 AM

    Yup.. But these were the thoughts of a 3-year old 🙂
    It makes me curious about those who repeat “Nothing is impossible”. What are the things they mean?

    Like

  3. allresourceupdates October 2, 2013 / 7:44 PM

    To most extent you are true and if by human nature we Go–When We say “Nothing is Impossible” we mean all the materialistic thing present in this world and I guess Materialistic things are not impossible to get

    Like

  4. Sreesha Divakaran October 3, 2013 / 5:04 AM

    Possibly.. But there may be exceptions even if that's the way you look at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

